University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Ergebnisse der Südsee-Expedition 1908-1910 = Results of the South Pacific-Expedition 1908-1910

General information

This is not a comprehensive list of all translations, but there are a few publishers that translated large portions of these volumes so they are mentioned here in their collective.

Loading

Plan of the Expedition (Sect. I)

Papua New Guinea - East Sepik Province (Sect. II, pt. A, v. 1)

Papua New Guinea - New Ireland Province (Sect. II, pt. A, v. 2)

Includes the St. Matthias islands (Mussau islands), Emirau Island and Tench Island

Papua New Guinea - Manus Province (Sect. II, pt. A, v. 3)

Papua New Guinea - East and West New Britain Provinces (Sect. II, pt. A, v. 4, pt. 1)

Nauru (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 1)

Loading

Yap (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 2)

Loading

Palau (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 3)

The description of Palau is split into five parts, each containing two sub-sections on various topics listed below.

Part 1:

I. History and discovery

II. Geography

Part 2:

III. Settlements and districts

IV. Demography, anthropology and language

Part 3:

V. Objects

VI. Material culture

Part 4:

VII. Stories and songs

VIII. Botanical and zoological Palauan word index

Part 5:

IX. Culture and the decorative arts

X. Directory of Bai structures

Loading

Kosrae (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 4)

Loading

Chuuk (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 5)

Chuuk: outer islands (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 6)

Part 1 includes the islands of Lukunor, Namoluk, Losap, Nama, Lemarafat, Namonuito (Onon), Pulap - Tamatam (in German: Lukunór-inseln, Nàmoluk, Lósap, Nama, Lëmàrafat, Namonuito oder Onóun, and Pollap-Tàmatam).

Part 2 includes the islands of Puluwat, Pulusuk, and Satawal (in German: Polowat, Hok, and Satowal).

Includes the islands of Lukunor, Namoluk, Losap, Nama, Lemarafat, Namonuito (Onon), Pulap - Tamatam.

Includes the islands of Puluwat, Pulusuk, and Satawal.

Loading

Pohnpei (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 7)

Loading

Pohnpei: outer islands (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 8)

Includes the islands of Kapingamarangi, Nukuoro, Sapwuahfik , Mokil (Mwoakilloa), and Pingelap

Western Caroline Islands (islands of Palau and Yap) (Sect.II, pt. B, v. 9)

Part 1 includes the Palau islands of Sonsorol, Pulo Anna, and Merir (in German, Songosor, Pur, and Merir).

Part 2 includes Tobi Island (Palauan state of Hatohobei) and Ngulu Atoll (Yap), and a short section on the culture on the islands of Sonsorol, Pulo Anna, Merir, Tobi and Ngulu (in German, Tobi and Ngulu).

Includes the islands of Sonsorol, Pulo Anna, and Merir

Includes Tobi Island (Palauan state of Hatohobei) and Ngulu Atoll (Yap), and a short section on the culture on the islands of Sonsorol, Pulo Anna, Merir, Tobi and Ngulu.

Loading

Central Caroline Islands (islands of Yap) (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 10)

Part 1 includes the Yap islands of the Lamotrek Group, Woleai, and Fais, (in German: Làmotrek-gruppe, Oleai, and Feis).

Part 2 includes the Yap islands of Ifalik, Eauripik, Faraulep, Sorol and Ulithi (Mogmog), (in German: Ifaluk, Aurepik, Faraulip, Sorol and Mogemog)

Includes the Yap islands of the Lamotrek Group, Woleai, and Fais.

Includes the Yap islands of Ifalik, Eauripik, Faraulep, Sorol and Ulithi (Mogmog)

Loading

Marshall Islands (Ralik and Ratak chains) (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 11)

Ontong Java Atoll and Nukumanu Islands (Sect. II, pt. B, v. 12)

Ongtong Java Atoll (Luangiua) is part of the Solomon Islands, and Nukumanu Islands are part of Papua New Guinea

Part 2 also includes notes on Solomon Islands' Sikaiana Islands (formerly Stewart Islands), and Papua New Guinea's Nuguria Islands (Abgarris or Fead Islands), Takuu Atoll (Takuu Mortlock or Marqueen Islands), and Carteret Islands (Tulun or Kilinailau Atolls).

Also includes notes on Solomon Islands' Sikaiana Islands (formerly Stewart Islands), and Papua New Guinea's Nuguria Islands (Abgarris or Fead Islands), Takuu Atoll (Takuu Mortlock or Marqueen Islands), and Carteret Islands (Tulun or Kilinailau Atolls).

Loading