Research Guides: TPSS 650 Soil Plant Nutrient Relations Fall 2016: Finding Books & Dissertations

Finding Books (and More) at UH Manoa Library

Use Hawaii Voyager to find both print and electronic forms of books, journals, videos, and more in the UH System libraries.

Use the Get This Item link in the upper right side of the item record to transfer a book to you from another UH System library; to recall a checked out book; or, to use an item in the Hawaiian, Pacific, or Special Research Collections.

Do not use Hawaii Voyager to find specific journal articles on a topic. Go to Finding Journal Articles for links to those tools.

Finding Materials in the Library: OneSearch Manoa

Connect to OneSearch

OneSearch allows you to search across a large collection of electronic journal articles, Hawaii Voyager records.

More Book Finding Tools

WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.
NOTE: WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch will soon become WorldCat Discovery. Click here to try WorldCat Discovery now.

Find eBooks
Search for UH Manoa Library e-books by title keyword, author, or ISBN

EBL (Ebook Library)
Beginning April 4, 2017, EBL is now part of Ebook Central.
Ebook Library (EBL) is a new ebook lending platform that delivers a rapidly expanding catalog of ebooks to academic and research libraries.
ebrary
Beginning April 5, 2017, ebrary is now part of Ebook Central.
ebrary provides online access to more than 100,000 books in business & economics; career & general education; computers, engineering & applied sciences; humanities; science, medicine, & allied health; and social & behavioral sciences.

Google Books
Use Google Books to find information about your topic in books the UH Manoa Library may have on the shelves. Google Books provides a way to find information that might otherwise be hidden. Open access; no login required.
Search in Hawaii Voyager for the titles of books that you find in Google Books to see if they are available at the UH Manoa Library shelves.
BorrowItNow
BorrowItNow lets you place requests for library items directly from the libraries that have them, cutting out the middle-man so you get the item faster.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
(Mann Library, Cornell University) The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Open access; no login required.

Some Useful Call Numbers

Books in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.

Agriculture call numbers start with S

Biology (including ecology) call numbers start with QH

Hydraulic engineering call numbers start with TC

Physical Geography call numbers start with GB

Soil Sciences call numbers start with S

Map of call number locations as a PDF file.

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Hawaii
Dissertations and Theses at University of Hawaii provides access to complete full text of University of Hawaii theses and dissertations from 1996 to present. Use Dissertations & Theses for citations, abstracts, and full text of work from other institutions.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Dissertations and Theses in ScholarSpace
An increasing number of UH Manoa dissertations and theses are available through our open access institutional repository, ScholarSpace. Open access; no login required.

Dissertations & Theses
Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.