Research Guides: Hawaiian and Pacific Resources Online: Find Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) Journal Articles

Open Access Academic Journals

The Contemporary Pacific
Call Number: DU1 .C665

Publication Date: 1989-

Available online here.
Vol 1 (1989) - Vol 30 (2018) available to all via ScholarSpace.
Vol 31 (2019) available via Project MUSE and requires a UHM login.
A premier journal of Pacific scholarship, produced by the UH-Mānoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies.

Fijian Studies: A Journal of Contemporary Fiji
Contains a mix of for-purchase and freely available articles. Library also collects print edition.
HAU: Journal of Ethnographic Theory
"Topics addressed by the journal include indigenous ontologies and systems of knowledge, forms of human engagement and relationality, cosmology and myth, magic, witchcraft and sorcery, truth and falsehood, indigenous theories of kinship and relatedness with humans and non-humans, hierarchy, materiality, perception, environment and space, time and temporality, personhood and subjectivity, alternative metaphysics of morality." (Quoted from website)
Hūlili
"Hūlili is a multidisciplinary forum for current research that examines the nature,
needs and strengths of Hawaiians, their families, and their communities.
Through collaboration and critique, Hūlili fosters new connections and shared insights to mobilize greater Hawaiian well-being." (Quoted from journal website)
Intersections: Gender and Sexuality in Asia and the Pacific
Although weighted somewhat more toward Asian countries and subjects, there is also a good amount of Pacific content in this Australian National University publication.
Island Studies Journal
An interdisciplinary journal produced at the University of Prince Edward Island in Canada. Covers all islands, but has substantial Pacific content. The official journal of the International Small Islands Studies Association.
Journal of Indigenous Social Development
"The Journal of Indigenous Social Development (JISD), formerly the Journal of Indigenous Voices in Social Work (JIVSW), is a peer reviewed, web-based, open access journal published twice a year by the Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. The journal is dedicated to improving social work practice and expanding knowledge relevant to indigenous peoples and communities in which they live. Articles published in JISD are intended for readers and contributors who work and live in indigenous communities, as well as those in the university research and social work practice communities. The articles are intended to reflect these diverse communities and perspectives. The editorial board, special issues editors and reviewers include university educators and researchers, elders and leaders of indigenous communities, community-based practitioners and policy makers." (quoted from website)
Journal of Political Ecology
"JPE is a peer reviewed journal, one of the longest standing, Gold Open Access journals in the social sciences. It began in 1994 and welcomes submissions in English, French and Spanish, and encourages research into the linkages between political economy and human environmental impacts across different locations and academic disciplines." (Quoted from home-page)
Journal of South Pacific Law
Published by the University of the South Pacific. "The Journal of South Pacific Law is a specialised on-line journal of the University of the South Pacific School of Law. We publish a wide range of legal materials with a focus on laws of the South Pacific region and on issues of interest to legal researchers within the region. All articles appearing in the Journal are refereed by scholars with extensive background in the region and its diverse legal systems. The editors welcome submissions to the journal and refer potential contributors to the submission information on this site." (Quoted from home-page)
Kivung
Continued by Language and Linguistics in Melanesia. Both Kivung and Language and Linguistics in Melanesia are indexed in the Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index (HPJI).
Language & Linguistics in Melanesia
Language and Linguistics in Melanesia (originally Kivung) is a peer-reviewed linguistic journal which ... seeks to publish original articles dealing with the languages of Papua New Guinea and Melanesia." (Quoted from website.) Print version is available Pacific Collection. Online begins with Vol. 29 (December 2011). Indexed in the Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index (HPJI).
Language Documentation and Conservation
"...a fully refereed, open-access journal sponsored by the National Foreign Language Resource Center and published exclusively in electronic form by the University of Hawaiʻi Press. We publish with no fees either for contributors or for readers. LD&C publishes papers on all topics related to language documentation and conservation, including, but not limited to, the goals of language documentation, data management, fieldwork methods, ethical issues, orthography design, reference grammar design, lexicography, methods of assessing ethnolinguistic vitality, biocultural diversity, archiving matters, language planning, areal survey reports, short field reports on endangered or underdocumented languages, reports on language maintenance, preservation, and revitalization efforts, plus reviews of software, hardware, books, and (from 2012) data collections." (quoted from home-page)
Locale: The Australasian-Pacific Journal of Regional Food Studies
"Locale: the Australasian-Pacific Journal of Regional Food Studies is a free-access biannual online journal. It combines peer-reviewed academic articles with industry reports, debates and photo essays. The journal welcomes contributions from the breadth of food and drinks related research." Quoted from "About" page.
Micronesian Journal of the Humanities and Social Sciences
An open access, online-only journal. Not indexed in HPJI (however, because it is on the open web, it should be picked up when searching with Google Scholar.
Micronesica
This peer reviewed journal on the natural sciences of Micronesia has been publishing for more than 50 years. Articles published from vol. 31(2) (1999) forward are available for free download.

ʻŌiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal
Call Number: PS508.H39 O39

Publication Date: 1998 - present

Available online via Ulukau.
Contains both original works in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi, translations, and reproductions of 19th century newspaper articles. The journal has a mix of pieces in both English and ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.

Pacific Asia Inquiry
A multi-disciplinary e-journal published by the University of Guam.

Pacific Studies by Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Call Number: DU1 .P38

Publication Date: 1977-

Available online.
Vol 1 (1977) – Vol 25 (2002) available for all.
Published quarterly, a multidisciplinary journal devoted to the study of the peoples of the Pacific Islands. Covers Anthropology, Archaeology, Art History, Economics, Ethnomusicology, Folklore, Geography, History, Sociolinguistics, Political Science, Sociology, and Literary Studies.

Shima: The International Journal of research into Island Cultures
Published by the Asia-Pacific Islands Program, a joint initiative of Southern Cross University, Australia, and Pattimura University, Indonesia. "Shima publishes: Theoretical and/or comparative studies of island cultures (and/or diasporic island communities); Case studies of island cultures; Accounts of collaborative research and development projects in island cultures; Analyses of fictional representations of islands and 'islandness.'" (Quoted from home-page)
South Pacific Journal of Psychology
Published between 1984 and 2005. Selected full-text is available online at this site. In 2007, this journal was continued by the online Journal of Pacific Rim Psychology, which is available in full-text on a subscription basis. (UH-Manoa subscribes to this journal online.)
Te Kaharoa
A "free-access, multi-disciplinary, refereed, e-journal focusing on indigenous Pacific issues." (Quoted from home-page.)

Online journals

Many of these journals are available online only with a UHM login.

AlterNative (Auckland, N.Z. : 2005) by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga.
Call Number: GN380 .A484

Publication Date: 2005-

Available online here with UHM login.
"Dedicated to the analysis and dissemination of native indigenous knowledge that uniquely belongs to cultural, traditional, tribal and aboriginal peoples as well as first-nations, from around the world. AlterNative spans themes of origins, place, peoples, community, culture, traditional and oral history, heritage, colonialism, power, intervention, development and self-determination."
Asia Pacific Journal of Anthropology by Australian National University
Call Number: GN1 .A853

Publication Date: 2000-

Available online with UHM login. "The Asia Pacific Journal of Anthropology publishes social and cultural anthropological research with a focus on the Asia Pacific region, including Australia."
The Contemporary Pacific
Call Number: DU1 .C665

Publication Date: 1989-

Available online here.
Vol 1 (1989) - Vol 30 (2018) available to all via ScholarSpace.
Vol 31 (2019) available via Project MUSE and requires a UHM login.
A premier journal of Pacific scholarship, produced by the UH-Mānoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies.
Journal of Island and Coastal Archaeology
Call Number: CC77.I84 J68

Publication Date: 2006-

Available online with UHM login.
"The Journal of Island & Coastal Archaeology (JICA) is aimed at archaeologists and other scientists with interests in the archaeology and historical ecology of islands and other coastal settings. ... It is the goal of the journal to publish high quality, peer-reviewed research papers that contribute to a better understanding of the role islands and coastal regions played in the development of human societies over space and time." Quoted from online aim & scope text.
Journal of New Zealand literature: JNZL by Victoria University of Wellington
Call Number: Available online with UHM login.

Publication Date: 1983-

Available online with UHM login.
"Carries scholarly and critical essays on all aspects of New Zealand literature and cultural studies"
Journal of Pacific archaeology by New Zealand Archaeological Association
Call Number: GN871 .J68

Publication Date: 2010-

Available online with UHM login.
"peer-reviewed research on the archaeology of the islands and continental margins of the Pacific Ocean. It replaces the New Zealand Journal of Archaeology (volumes 1-30, published 1979-2008)." Quoted from online scope and focus statement.
Journal of Pacific History
Call Number: DU1 .J68

Publication Date: 1966-

Available online here.
Vol 1 (1966) - current issue available with UHM login.
Journal of Pacific Rim Psychology by Cambridge University Press
Call Number: Open access

Publication Date: 2007-

A peer-reviewed e-journal that replaced the South Pacific Journal of Psychology (published between 1984 and 2005). Coverage includes Oceania (including Hawaiʻi), Australasia, East Asia and the Western U.S. Access is via a subscription database.
Journal of the Polynesian Society
Call Number: GN2 .P7

Publication Date: 1892-

Available online here.
Vol 1 (1892) - Vol 124 (2015) available to all.
Vol 121 (2012) - current available with UHM login.
"Provided a major forum for discussion of the history, ethnology, archaeology, biological anthropology, sociology and linguistics of Māori and other Pacific Islands people since 1892. It publishes the Journal of the Polynesian Society quarterly as well as an extensive memoir series."
Oceania by University of Sydney
Call Number: DU28 .O3

Publication Date: 1930-

Vol 66 (1996) - current issue available online with UHM login.
Contributions in the field of social and cultural anthropology. Its primary regional orientation is to the peoples of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and insular southeast Asia.
Oceanic linguistics
Call Number: PL5001 .A345

Publication Date: 1962-

Available online here with UHM login.
Also available on microform.
Oceanic Linguistics is devoted to the study of the indigenous languages of the Oceanic area and parts of Southeast Asia. The languages within the scope of the journal are the original languages of Australia, the Papuan languages of New Guinea, and the languages of the Austronesian (or Malayo-Polynesian) family.
ʻŌiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal
Call Number: PS508.H39 O39

Publication Date: 1998 - present

Available online via Ulukau.
Contains both original works in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi, translations, and reproductions of 19th century newspaper articles. The journal has a mix of pieces in both English and ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.
Pacific journalism review
Call Number: PN5620 .P3

Publication Date: 1994 - present

Available online with UHM login.
Founded at the University of Papua New Guinea in 1994, this peer-reviewed research journal explores journalism, media issues, communication and diversity in the South Pacific, Asia-Pacific, Australia and New Zealand. It is published by the Pacific Media Centre, School of Communication Studies, AUT University, and has links with the Australian Centre for Independent Journalism and the University of the South Pacific.
Asia Pacific viewpoint
Call Number: D0 AS741 .P3

An international journal with Pacific coverage.
Physical holdings: v.37:no.1(1996:Apr.)-
Available online here with UHM login. "Asia Pacific Viewpoint publishes academic research in geography and allied disciplines on the economic and social development of the Asia Pacific. Particular attention is paid to the interplay between development and the environment and to the growing interconnections between countries in the region."
Ethnobotany research and applications
Call Number: GN476.73 .E86

Publication Date: 2003-

Available online with some content requiring UHM login. "The journal is published by the Department of Ethnobotany, Institute of Botany, Ilia State University, Tbilisi, Georgia."
Fijian Studies: A Journal of Contemporary Fiji by Fiji Institute of Applied Studies
Call Number: DU600 .F498

Publication Date: 2003-

Available online via the Fiji Institute of Applied Studies.
Graduate journal of Asia-Pacific studies by University of Auckland. Faculty of Arts.
Call Number: Available online with UHM login

Publication Date: 2003-2014

Available online from the University of Auckland. Published twice a year, peer-reviewed electronic journal that showcases the original work of graduate students publishing thought-provoking interdisciplinary articles, reviews, commentary and visual works that engage critical issues, themes and debates related to the Asia-Pacific region and its peoples.
HAU : Journal of Ethnographic Theory by University of Chicago
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 2011-

"Topics addressed by the journal include indigenous ontologies and systems of knowledge, forms of human engagement and relationality, cosmology and myth, magic, witchcraft and sorcery, truth and falsehood, indigenous theories of kinship and relatedness with humans and non-humans, hierarchy, materiality, perception, environment and space, time and temporality, personhood and subjectivity, alternative metaphysics of morality." (Quoted from website)
Intersections : gender and sexuality in Asia and the Pacific by Australian National University
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 1998-

Although weighted somewhat more toward Asian countries and subjects, there is also a good amount of Pacific content in this Australian National University publication.
Island studies journal by University of Prince Edward Island. Institute of Island Studies.
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 2006-

An interdisciplinary journal produced at the University of Prince Edward Island in Canada. Covers all islands, but has substantial Pacific content. The official journal of the International Small Islands Studies Association.
Journal of Indigenous Social Development by University of Manitoba. Faculty of Social Work.
Call Number: Available online via ScholarSpace

Publication Date: 2012-

"The Journal of Indigenous Social Development (JISD), formerly the Journal of Indigenous Voices in Social Work (JIVSW), is a peer reviewed, web-based, open access journal that is dedicated to improving social work practice and expanding knowledge relevant to indigenous peoples and communities in which they live. Articles published in JISD are intended for readers and contributors who work and live in indigenous communities, as well as those in the university research and social work practice communities. The articles are intended to reflect these diverse communities and perspectives." (quoted from website)
Journal of Political Ecology by University of Arizona
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 1994-

"JPE is a peer reviewed journal, one of the longest standing, Gold Open Access journals in the social sciences. It encourages research into the linkages between political economy and human environmental impacts across different locations and academic disciplines." (Quoted from home-page)
Journal of South Pacific Law by University of the South Pacific. School of Law.
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 1997-

Publishes articles concerning "a wide range of legal materials with a focus on laws of the South Pacific region and on issues of interest to legal researchers within the region." (Quoted from home-page)
Kivung by Linguistic Society of Papua New Guinea
Call Number: P19 .K68

Publication Date: 1968-1980

Available online.
Continued by Language and Linguistics in Melanesia.
Language and linguistics in Melanesia by Linguistic Society of Papua New Guinea
Call Number: P19 .K68

Publication Date: 1982-

Available online.
"A peer-reviewed linguistic journal which ... seeks to publish original articles dealing with the languages of Papua New Guinea and Melanesia." (Quoted from website.). Continues Kivung.
Language Documentation and Conservation by National Foreign Language Resource Center (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 2007-

"...a fully refereed, open-access journal...[that] publishes papers on all topics related to language documentation and conservation, including, but not limited to, the goals of language documentation, data management, fieldwork methods, ethical issues, orthography design, reference grammar design, lexicography, methods of assessing ethnolinguistic vitality, biocultural diversity, archiving matters, language planning, areal survey reports, short field reports on endangered or underdocumented languages, reports on language maintenance, preservation, and revitalization efforts, plus reviews of software, hardware, books, and (from 2012) data collections." (quoted from home-page)
Locale the Australasian-Pacific journal of regional food studies by Regional Food Research Network Australasia
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 2011-
Micronesian journal of the humanities and social sciences
Call Number: DU500 .M5333

Publication Date: 2002-

Available online.
Micronesica
Call Number: DU500.A2 M5

Publication Date: 1964-

In print 1964 - 2006.
Available online 2008 - present via the University of Guam.
ʻŌiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal
Call Number: PS508.H39 O39

Publication Date: 1998 - present

Available online via Ulukau.
Contains both original works in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi, translations, and reproductions of 19th century newspaper articles. The journal has a mix of pieces in both English and ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.
Pacific Asia inquiry : multidisciplinary perspectives by The University of Guam College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences
Call Number: Available online with UHM login

"Peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to showcasing works on the Pacific Asia region and to advancing knowledge and understanding of the region. Pacific Asia has long been the focus of intense cultural, political and economic interaction with other world regions, and it is the central theme of this journal."
Pacific Studies by Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Call Number: DU1 .P38

Publication Date: 1977-

Available online.
Vol 1 (1977) – Vol 25 (2002) available for all.
Published quarterly, a multidisciplinary journal devoted to the study of the peoples of the Pacific Islands. Covers Anthropology, Archaeology, Art History, Economics, Ethnomusicology, Folklore, Geography, History, Sociolinguistics, Political Science, Sociology, and Literary Studies.
Shima (Sydney, N.S.W.) by Macquarie University. Island Cultures Research Centre.
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 2007-

"Shima publishes: Theoretical and/or comparative studies of island cultures (and/or diasporic island communities); Case studies of island cultures; Accounts of collaborative research and development projects in island cultures; Analyses of fictional representations of islands and 'islandness.'" (Quoted from home-page)
South Pacific Journal of Psychology by University of Papua New Guinea
Call Number: BF1 .S65

Publication Date: 1984-2005

Available online.
Published between 1984 and 2005. Selected full-text is available online at this site. In 2007, this journal was continued by the online Journal of Pacific Rim Psychology.
Te Kaharoa : the ejouranl on indigenous Pacific issues by Auckland University of Technology
Call Number: Available online

Publication Date: 2008-

"An open access, multi-disciplinary, refereed, electronic journal with a focus on indigenous issues in the Pacific region. It is supported by Te Ara Poutama – the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Development – at AUT University. It accepts but is not limited to articles dealing with language, culture, art, history, anthropology, development studies, and other disciplines associated with the indigenous peoples of the Pacific. The journal’s primary purpose is to provide a forum for the publication of original research which helps to expand the knowledge of the indigenous peoples and cultures of the Pacific."

OneSearch

Numerous Hawai'i- and Pacific-related electronic journals are available to UH students, faculty and staff. Not all of the journals and databases listed on this page can be searched via OneSearch, the library's online search tool, but it can be a useful starting point. You can search for either specific article titles if you already have a citation to one, or more generally using keywords. On the left side of your screen, you will see a list of search filters -- select "peer reviewed journals" and "available online." (Note, if you are interested in seeing all online-available materials, simply uncheck the "peer reviewed journals" filter and search "available online," which will search a broader array of online resources (books, films, selected journal articles, etc.) If you are unfamiliar with OneSearch, this online guide is an excellent introduction.

Databases & Indexes

This is a selection of databases, and not a comprehensive list. The majority of these databases and indexes are only available with UHM login. You can find a list of all databases the Library currently subscribes to by clicking this link.

Australasian Literature Online
Creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Starting in the 1930s and spanning up to the present, these in-copyright fictional and poetry works will be cross-searchable for the first time. With 120,000 pages at completion, and enriched with interviews, Australasian Literature is an incomparable resource for researchers in the fields of Literature, Creative Writing, Post-Colonial Studies, Immigration Studies, Social Studies, Anthropology and more.
Bob Krauss Research Index (Hawaii Newspapers Index)
The Bob Krauss Research Index is an index of English-language newspaper content from Hawaii, covering 1840 through 1944. It is not comprehensive but covers periods of time for which there is no formal indexing. Includes links to online copies of newspapers, where available.
EBSCOhost
Search over 10,000 full text journals in more than 50 EBSCOhost databases covering all subjects.
ERIC (via EBSCOHost)
National information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests and references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.

Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians is generally acknowledged as a major authority on all aspects of music and is widely used throughout the academic and professional community. The online version contains the complete text of the print. See entries for Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia for overviews, discussions of music and dance, musical instruments, and specific regional topics.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
HPJI is searchable in OneSearch. To search, click the link above, replace the "Hawaii" with your keywords, and then click "Search."
HPJI is a citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.
JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
statistical tables from U.S. federal agencies, and state, local, private, association, trade, and intergovernmental organizations. Coverage includes the "American Pacific" (i.e., Guam, American Samoa, Micronesia) as well as Pacific countries with whom various U.S. agencies and industry interact. Abstracts link to full-text documents in a variety of formats. Coverage of some statistical publications goes back to 1973.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index (not full-text database) for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes an array of Pacific-related topics, represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Moving Images of the Pacific Islands : A Guide To Films and Videos
This database of over 3,400 entries is produced by the UH-Manoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies, and is intended as a reference for those interested in films related to the Pacific Islands.

Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
World Development Indicators
1960-present. Provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series data for more than 200 countries and 18 country groupings. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Updated monthly. Export to Excel and CSV.