Research Guides: Hawaiian and Pacific Resources Online: Find Newspaper & "Popular Press" Articles

Pacific Historic Newspapers Online

Both the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have a great many historic newspapers, dating from the 19th century through present. Many are in microfilm, and most have not been indexed, meaning that if you're searching for a specific event, your only option may be to go to the microfilms and begin reading papers dating from the period you're interested in. However, some have been digitized, and in these cases are searchable and readable online.

British Newspaper Index
Coverage ranges from the 18th century forward to early 20th. Payment is required to view full text, but the index can still be useful in searching out citations to news coverage.

Chronicling America
Searchable full-text newspapers from throughout the U.S., primarily in English language. Hawaiʻi newspapers cover 1840-1922. Access the Chronicling America legacy site here

Marianas Variety (1972-1999)
Search and download the full text of Saipan's major daily newspaper, from 1972-1999. Coverage includes local news as well as news of Micronesia and the Pacific more broadly.
Papers Past (New Zealand)
The National Library of New Zealand hosts this site, which includes New Zealand papers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
TROVE
Hosted by the National Library of Australia, TROVE searches across a vast array of digital content produced by numerous Australian institutions. Digitized newspapers cover the years from 1803 to 1954.

Online Hawaii Newspapers, English language (Licensed for UHM Use Only)

Honolulu Star-Advertiser Database
Search the full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 6, 2010 - present), the Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010) and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar. 18, 1996-June 6, 2010).
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Online Hawaii Newspapers, English language (open access)

Aurora Hawaiiana (1888-1891)
The second Portuguese newspaper in the Islands. Four-page Honolulu weekly, August 1889 to March 1891; 85 issues, 340 pages. Helen Chapin's description here.
The Friend (1843 - 1910)
Via Mission Children's Society Library. The Friend is the oldest continuing newspaper in Hawaiʻi, in publication since 1843. Click here for Helen Chapin's description.
The Friend (1902-1924)
Via Hathi Trust. The Friend is the oldest continuing newspaper in Hawaiʻi, in publication since 1843. Click here for Helen Chapin's description.

Honolulu record by Koji Ariyoshi
Call Number: AN2 .H65
Publication Date: 1948-1958
Also on Microfilm: MICROFILM S90146
Available online via the Center for Labor Education & Research. The Search box retrieves search results but the links do not work. To get to the articles, take note of the issues' volumes and numbers, click the "back" button and browse your way to the issue through the "Honolulu Record Index" link.
Offered "investigative, crusading journalism that attacked the Establishment for racism, 1st amendment infractions, police brutality, improper political fundraising, sub-standard plantation housing" (from Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi).
Honolulu weekly
Call Number: MICROFILM V91184 and DU629.H7 H66
The Honolulu Weekly was published between 1991-2013. For many in Honolulu during these years, especially prior to the advent of the Internet, the Weekly was a welcome alternative to the Honolulu dailies, offering a fresh take on Honolulu's music and culture scene, and focusing on astutely selected social and political issues of the day. The paper’s weekly publication cycle and long-format cover stories often allowed writers to explore topics at a depth the daily newspapers were unable to, while also encouraging writers to go beyond simple reporting and into a more nuanced analysis. Full-text access via eVols at UHM Library. Use the "Search Community" search box.

News Aggregators

Websites that gather news from a variety of other sources. They generally feature the major news stories of the Pacific, so are a good place to start for most basic news research.

PACNEWS
News aggregation site created and maintained by the Pacific Islands News Association.
Pacific Scoop
Focused on New Zealand, but contains regional news.
Pacific Media Watch
Focused on news about journalism and media in the Pacific.
Pacific Islands Report
Created by the East West Center Pacific Islands Development Program in mid 1990s. Ceased in October 2017.