University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Cultural Studies in the Pacific: Research Tools

A guide to graduate-level, Pacific-oriented research in the field of Cultural Studies. Designed for ENG625 and related courses.

Internet Resources

(Mouse over link for a description of its contents)

Other Useful Library Guides

These online library guides will help you in searching for specific classes of material within our collections. For a complete list of Hawaiʻi-related guides, click here. For a complete list of Pacific related guides, click here.

Print Resources

Click on the highlighted titles below to see where you can find copies of these books and journals in the Library. Check Locations! Items in the Voyager catalog marked UH Mānoa: Hamilton Pacific Reference or UH Mānoa: Hamilton Hawaiian Reference can be pulled directly off the reference shelves in the Hawaiian & Pacific reading room. For items marked UH Mānoa Hawaiian Collection or UH Mānoa Pacific Collection, request retrieval through the "Get This Item" link in Voyager. (Click here for instructions on how to request books using "Get This Item.")

 

BASIC REFERENCE

For Hawaiian and Pacific research, all of the same tools exist as for any other kind of research. There are region- and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, histories, newspapers, academic journals and etc. A few starting points:

Europa Publications. The Far East and Australasia. London: Europa Publications, 1969-.

Annual publication with detailed overview information (history, geography, population and economic statistics) for every country in the Pacific, including U.S. affiliated (Hawaiʻi, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands and American Samoa). Most recent editions are located in the 1st floor reference section and in the Asia reference collection on the 4th floor.

Goetzfridt, Nicholas J. Indigenous Literature of Oceania: a survey of criticism and interpretation. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995.

Goetzfridt is renowned for his detailed annotations. This bibliography is extremely useful for researching Pacific literature. Includes indexes to title, author, subject and literary critics.

Kirtley, Bacil F. A motif-index of Polynesian, Melanesian, and Micronesian narratives. New York: Arno Press, 1980.

A good source for those interested in folkloric studies, particularly in comparing traditions from different parts of the Pacific. Several broad subject headings (Mythological Motifs; Animals; Tabu; Magic; The Dead; etc.) are broken down into various sub-categories. Also useful for looking at contemporary Pacific literature, given that a good portion of it draws from traditional motifs.

Lal, Brij V. and Kate Fortune.  The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press, 2000.

A very good source for a wide variety of information on all aspects of life in the Pacific, from pre-contact to present day. The Literature section (pp. 516-538) includes overviews on writing from various regions, as well as biographies for many Pacific writers.

Selected Academic and Literary Journals

The below journals include work either by or about Pacific writers, including poetry, prose, book reviews and longer works of literary criticism. For a more comprehensive list, follow the link to Pacific Islands Literature: A Selected Reading Guide  in the "Online Bibliographies" box at top left. Those marked below with two asterisks (**) are indexed in the Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index. For more information on searching the index, see the Research Strategies page. Click on titles for holdings information.

 

**The Contemporary Pacific. Honolulu, Hawaiʻi: Center for Pacific Islands Studies & University of Hawaiʻi Press, c1989-

Widely regarded as one of the worldʻs premier scholarly journals of the Pacific. In addition to the print version, fulltext is available online. Click here for access to current issues (via the Universityʻs subscription to Project Muse); click here for free access to back-issues, via Scholarspace (the University Libraryʻs Open Access site). 

Bikmaus (continues Papua New Guinea Writing). Boroko, Papua New Guinea: Institute of Papua New Guinea Studies, 1980-

A continuation of the journal Papua New Guinea Writing (see description below).

**Dreadlocks. Suva, Fiji: Dept. of Literature and Language, University of the South Pacific, 1997- 

Literary criticism, poetry and fiction.

**Journal of the Polynesian Society. Wellington, N.Z. [etc.] Polynesian Society, 1892-

Literary history and criticism.

Kovave: A Journal of New Guinea Literature. November 1969-June 1975.

The first journal of its kind to feature writing of Papua New Guineans.

Litterama'ohi. Papeete, Tahiti: Editions Te Ite. 2002-

Literary criticism, poetry and fiction, in French and Tahitian.

**Mana: a South Pacific Journal of Language and Literature (formerly **Mana Review). Suva, Fiji: Mana Publications, 1976-

Literary criticism, poetry and fiction.

**ʻŌiwi: a native Hawaiian journal. Honolulu, Hawaiʻi: Kuleana ʻŌiwi Press, 1998-

Fiction, non-fiction and poetry by Native Hawaiians. Full-text available online via the Hawaiian Electronic Library. To connect, click on volume: Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3  

Papua New Guinea Writing (continued by Bikmaus). Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea: Literature Bureau, Dept. of Information and Extension Services. 1970-1978.

Interviews, poetry and fiction. Includes early work by many of PNG's most famous writers.

Savannah Flames. Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, 1993-

"A Papua New Guinean journal of literature, language and culture," founded and edited by Steven Winduo.

Span. Brisbane, AUS: University of Queensland, 1975-

"Journal of the South Pacific Association For Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies." Includes poetry, short fiction, non-fiction, art and reviews.

UH-M Digitized Image Collections

The Photo at left is from George Grace Linguistic Research Collection;the below list
includes only Hawaiʻi/Pacific-related digital collections; for links to 
all of Hamilton
Library's digital collections, 
click here