In addition to general databases (JSTOR, Academic Search Premier) there are several specialized databases of material related to English and English Literature. The most important of these can be found below.
This is the preeminent online index for books and articles about modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals). Coverage is international and includes literature from North and South America, Europe, Australia, Asia, and more . While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented.
It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1961 and 2009. Containing over 119,044 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England.