The Oxford English Dictionary is the preeminent historical dictionary of the English language. The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
This new edition includes thousands of brand-new words and senses, as well as up-to-date encyclopedic information, and extensive appendices covering topics such as countries, heads of state, and chemical elements.
This dictionary provides the histories behind hundreds of eponyms (words formed from names): words such as bowdlerize, from the censorious Thomas Bowdler; bikini from the atoll; and the Salisbury steak, named after an English physician.
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and editors with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. It gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.
This dictionary contains entries for over 6,000 idioms, including 700 entirely new entries. These include a range of recently established idioms such as ‘the elephant in the corner’, ‘go figure’, ‘like a rat up a drainpipe’, ‘sex on legs’, ‘step up to the plate’, ‘too posh to push’, ‘a walk in the park’, ‘win ugly’.
Drawing on the Oxford English Dictionary and offering coverage of over 6,000 slang words and expressions, this is an authoritative dictionary of slang from the 20th and 21st centuries. It contains expressions from around the English-speaking world.
This dictionary describes the origins and development of over 3,000 words and phrases in the English language, and it relates the stories behind many of our most curious terms and expressions. Also featured are special entries that cover expressions common in English but drawn from other languages.
More than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
With contributions from more than 130 experts, the language is viewed from an international perspective and a broad historical range. Substantial entries are given on key subjects such as American and British differences, computing, etymology, pidgin, poetry, sexism, Shakespeare's language, and slang.
This dictionary contains 1,000 grammatical terms and their meanings. All the currently accepted terms of grammar are included, as well as older, traditional names, controversial new coinages, and items from the study of other languages.
Use these research guidesfor disciplines related to English.