It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geography 365: Geography of the Pacific: Research Tools & Strategies
An introduction to researching the cultural, political and economic geography of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia (minus Hawai'i).
Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives.
Citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
NOTE: MLA International Bibliography is only available via EBSCOhost beginning Jan. 1, 2019.
Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
Maintained by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library, ScholarSpace, the UH Manoa digital repository, aims to store the intellectual works and unique collections of this academic community and to provide a permanent web location for those accessing these resources. Some resources may be restricted for use by UHM students, faculty and staff only.
Basic Research Checklist
Generally speaking, all Hawaiʻi- and Pacific-related library research
follows the same steps, in this order: 1) Search Voyager; 2) Search the
Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index (HPJI); 3) search databases specific to
your topic. The below outlines an overview process meant to get you
started; in this context, Google Scholar and Google Books can be
powerful supplements to Voyager and HPJI; however, when it comes time to
doing a literature search for a Masterʻs Thesis or Doctoral
Dissertation, be aware that Google Scholar/Books donʻt capture
everything there is.
Voyager should be your first stop whenever beginning a new research
project. It holds the record for every item (books, journals,
newspapers, microfilms, videos, audio recordings, manuscript
collections and etc.) in every library in the UH system, from Hilo to
Kauaʻi. Generally speaking, Voyager allows you to search for materials
by title, author, publisher and subject. It
does NOT generally allow you to search for the titles of articles within
journals or the titles / authors of chapters within books
(there are other strategies for these kinds of searches ... see below).
There are occasional exceptions to this rule -- some book contents are
listed in Voyager records; some journal articles have been cataloged
separately in Voyager by title -- but as a rule of thumb when starting
your research, assume that you are going to be searching for title,
author or subject.
Before you start searching, it's a good idea to log into the Voyager
system, which you can do by clicking on the "Login to your account"
link in the upper right hand of the Voyager search screen. This will
not only save you a step when you begin requesting books, but also
allows you to save your search results for future reference (very
important when it comes time to cite your references in a paper).
The simplest way to begin searching is via a keyword search.
"Basic" mode, simply type some words that you think might describe your
needs (for instance, Pacific geography) and hit search.
This will give you a broad sampling of materials, some of which should
be related to your topic. When you find something that is of interest,
look at the "Subjects" field -- you can click on these links to find
other materials that are on the same topic.
Subject searching is a more focused means of navigating in
Voyager. Subject headings are in theory applied to every item (books,
newspapers, videos, etc.) in the library's online catalog, and are
meant to help you narrow down your search. I say "in theory" because
there are certain instances where the headings haven't been added.
Because it is a "controlled vocabulary" it is also less forgiving than
keyword searching. If you already know your subject headings, use them
in the Basic Search mode, as a "Subject Browse" search. (For
a list of useful Pacific subject headings, click here.). If you
are unsure of the exact subject heading, go to Advanced Search mode and
use the "Subject Keyword" search -- this search will bring up all
titles with the subject headings that contain the keywords you use.
(Note that a basic keyword search will also search all subject headings;
by using a subject keyword search you are essentially narrowing down
the basic keyword search by limiting it strictly to the subject headings
it is best to use a combination of keyword searching and subject
headings searches to make sure you are finding everything in the
When searching using a known subject heading, use "Subject Browse"
in Basic search mode. Two important subject headings to remember when looking for early, first-hand accounts are "Discovery and Exploration" "Description and Travel" (that is, Tahiti Discovery and Exploration or Papua New Guinea Description and Travel ... "Discovery and Exploration" brings up materials that talk about initial contact (usually things like the logs of European Voyagers); "Description and Travel" covers post-contact arrivals (things like diaries of missionaries and etc.)
If you're unsure of the subject heading, use "Subject Keyword" in
the Advanced search mode.
As mentioned above, Voyager searches for the titles of journals, but it does not generally search for titles of articles within journals. Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index is one way to "look inside" journals. It is not a full-text database, but it does allows you to search the contents of more than 130 scholarly journals and "popular press" magazines published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Most of these are not indexed anywhere else in the world. All of the searching in HPJI is by keyword, and covers the article title, journal title, author, journal date, and an abstract/summary of each article.
The three most useful searches in HPJI are Keyword Anywhere, Author Name and Journal Name. In most cases, it is best to use the "advanced search" mode, rather than the "basic search," which is less flexible.
With a few exceptions, most of the magazines and journals indexed in the HJPI are only available in print; all are held by the Hawaiʻi and Pacific Collections in UHM library. Once you find an article in HPJI, look at the holdings information -- if there is an electronic version available (such as for Contemporary Pacific or the Journal of the Polynesian Society) a link should appear in the HPJI record. Otherwise, you will need to go back into the Voyager database, search for the journal title in basic search mode, and then use "Get This Item" to request the specific journal the article appears in.
When working in HPJI, it's a good idea to have two windows open so that you can run HPJI and Voyager simultaneously; once you've found something in HPJI, you can then jump to Voyager to request the journal. Remember to save the publishing information (article title, journal title, issue date, page numbers) for all items you request: A year's worth of journals are often bound together; if you don't have this information with you when you come to look at the journal, you will waste a lot of time flipping through hundreds of pages looking for your article.
3. The Googles
When using Google Scholar and Google Books, please remember
that the Internet (even Google!) does not hold information on everything
in the world. There are things in our library that simply don't exist
anywhere else in the world and are invisible to Google. This is
particularly true of the kind of primary source material that you are
expected to know about when doing graduate-level research -- you ignore
Voyager and the Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index at your own great risk!
Google searches should also never be substituted for searches in
databases featured at left -- Google is a good means of diving into your
subject and getting a sense of what has been published ... but it is
not a one stop solution to advanced scholarly research and it can also
at times be an extremely messy search. All of this said:
Google Scholar can at times be a useful means of searching
scholarly journals, and you will often find material here that is not
indexed in HPJI (because Hawaiʻi and Pacific scholars will sometimes
publish articles in journals that are not specifically about Hawaiʻi or
the Pacific).Be cautioned however that the opposite is also true: Many
of the journals indexed in HPJI are not picked up by Google -- don't
skip HPJI thinking that Google Scholar will find everything, or you will
miss some important resources.
Although you can reach Google Scholar on the open internet, it
best to log in through the library's electronic resources portal (use
the link above) -- this is because the library's version of Google
Scholar automatically recognizes articles that the library has paid for
through its database subscriptions, and so you can immediately get the
articles for free in full text. If you were to find the same articles
using the open Internet version, you would be required to pay for
access to the articles.
If you find an article in Google Scholar that the library
subscribe to electronically, be sure to search in the Voyager catalog
to see if we subscribe to the print version. If the library doesn't
subscribe to print, you can request a "document delivery" of the article
using the library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service—in most instances,
you will receive a (free) digital version of the article within a few
days. For more in ILL, click
Google Books can at times be a useful tool for searching within
contents of books: It searches the full text of books that have been
scanned by Google. If a book is out of copyright or if Google has made
arrangements with a copyrighted book's publisher, you will often be
able to look at full-text on screen. In other cases, you will be able
to see a small "snippet" of the text.
When full text is not available online (or even if it is, but
prefer to read the printed version), keep in mind that virtually all of
the books you find on Google Books will be available in print in the UH
library. So you can also use Google Books as a supplement to
our Voyager catalog: Search the contents of the books using Google, then
search Voyager for the title. If you come across a title that is not in
Voyager catalog, remember that you can also request the book through
the library's Interlibrary Loan system—delivery time ranges, but for
current publications it is usually one to two weeks. (Be warned though
that some of our partner libraries will not loan out brand-new works via
ILL (they want to hold them for their own users) and virtually no one
will send old and rare material.)
A short online video detailing the steps to access full text journal articles using UH Mānoa Library resources. Although its geared toward finding articles in scientific journals, the same steps apply for all disciplines.
The main campus of COM is in Pohnpei, but there are also campuses in Yap, Chuuk, and Kosrae, each with its own library. The main library has an online catalog, a Pacific Collection, and also maintains the archive of the college.
This is the main library of American Samoa and they have a Samoa / Pacific Collection and digital photo collection. Their online catalog is also accessible within the American Samoa library consortium.
The general focus of the Library's collections is on the history of Hawaiʻi from 1778 to 1900. Houses original Hawaiian-language publications, many of which were printed at the Mission Houses Printing House. HMCS Library has the most extensive collection of Hawaiian-language publications in the world. HMCS Library also has the largest collection of missionary correspondence, journals, and reports.
Established in 1954 as the Central Archives of Fiji and the Western Pacific High Commission. It also includes a library collection. Many of the indexes and finding aids are available online, although there is not central database.
The NLA has an extensive Pacific Collection mostly focused in those parts of the Pacific that were or are territories of Australia. There is an online catalog as well as the Trove database for online resources. NLA holdings are also findable in worldcat.
The NLNZ has a wonderful Pacific Collection with strong holdings related to Māori and NZ-affiliated Pacific Islands. There is an online catalog and many resources available online. NLNZ holdings are also findable in worldcat.
The SPC has a library that serves the needs of SPC staff but has a few hours it is open to the public. The focus of the collection is technical documents. It has an online catalog. The corporate archives are accessible at the Service des Archives de Nouvelle-Calédonie.
The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau copies archives, manuscripts and rare printed material relating to the Pacific Islands. The aim of the Bureau is to help with long-term preservation of the documentary heritage of the Pacific Islands and to make it accessible.
Searches holdings of the main USP campus library in Suva, Fiji, as well as other smaller collections on this campus. The main strengths of this library are in Melanesia and Polynesia, but it does also hold Micronesian material.