Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Pacific Collection also holds print bibliographies for virtually every Pacific country and subject -- most are not available to read online, but the physical copy can be found via OneSearch.
Island lives: a selected bibliography of biographies by
Publication Date: 2007
Useful to find biographical resources on important Pacific Island figures.
Pacific Islands Literature: A Selective Reading Guide by
Publication Date: revised and updated, December 2014
Earlier editions: 2012
This bibliography was originally compiled by Karen M. Peacock for LIS688 (Resources in Pacific Islands Studies), a graduate seminar in the UH-Manoa Library and Information Sciences program. It was most recently updated in December 2014 by Stuart Dawrs.
Pacific Resources: A Selected List Available online
This is a broad list of print resources on a wide variety of subjects.
[delete once on ScholarSpace]
Selected Internet Reference Sources
Pacific Collection Internet Resources
A compendium of links to various trusted Internet sources of news, statistics, government and NGO, and other information. Compiled by Pacific Collection librarians at UH-Mānoa.
Pacific Islands Report
A good one-stop internet source for news of the Pacific. See also the "News Sources" link on the Pacific Collection's "Internet Resources" page (link above). Produced by the East-West Center, the Pacific Islands Report gathers news from a wide variety of sources throughout the Pacific, as well as occasionally publishing original reporting of its own. Searchable archives allow researching of major news events, dating back to 1997.
Pacific Regional Information System (PRISM)
One of the major online repositories of current statistical information. Operated by the Secretariat of the Pacific Community, PRISM gathers statistics directly from government reporting agencies, and provides links back to those agencies.
General reference texts
When thinking about Pacific research, it's useful to remember that every kind of reference work you've ever used for other research topics -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, etc. -- also exists for the Pacific. Below are a sampling of general reference texts that cover all regions of Oceania, along with a few examples of items for specific countries. There are similar texts in our collection that focus either on one of the three cultural regions (Micronesia, Melanesia, Polynesia) or on specific island groups. Items with double asterisks (**) may be of particular interest.
The Far East and Australasia by
Call Number: DS 502 .F37
This annual publication is a one-stop compendium of current statistics (area & population, agriculture, industry, finance, external trade, transport, tourism, communications, education), information on governmental arrangement, and etc. Includes narratives on Physical and Social Geography, History and Economy. Current editions are in reference area on 1st floor of Hamilton; all Pacific nations are grouped alphabetically under the broad category of "The Pacific Islands."
Historical dictionary of Oceania by
Call Number: DU10 .H57
Publication Date: 1981
This could more properly be described as an encyclopedia, with multi-paragraph entries on people and places of the Pacific. The entries are not as in-depth as those in The Far East and Australasia, but still can be a useful starting point for those who are approaching a given island or island group for the first time.
The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia by
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000
Publication Date: 2000
An excellent all-around source for overview information on physical geography, historical demographics, political systems and more. Because it was published 10 years ago, it is best used for historical information rather than current events.
An economic assessment of the Republic of Vanuatu by
Call Number: HC685 .E26 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Although this particular report is somewhat dated, it is included here as a reminder that this sort of economic reporting is available for virtually every country in the Pacific. To find recent publications on a specific country, use the "Subject Browse" mode of the Voyager catalog and search for the country name followed by economic conditions (that is, Papua New Guinea economic conditions or Samoa economic conditions or etc.
Indigenous Literature of Oceania by
Call Number: PN849.O26 I53 1995
Publication Date: 1995
This annotated bibliography can be very useful when looking for information on specific writers or literary works.
Pacific constitutions by
Call Number: JQ5995.A13 P33 1984
Publication Date: 1984-
v. 1. Polynesia
v. 2. Independent states of Melanesia and Micronesia
v. 3. Micronesia
[v. 4.] Supplementary readings.
UHM Pacific digital image collections
Mouse over link for details (and be warned that the majority of Pacific journals are not available online).
The Contemporary Pacific
Call Number: DU1 .C665
Publication Date: 1989-
Available online here
Vol 1 (1989) - Vol 30 (2018) available to all via ScholarSpace.
Vol 31 (2019) available via Project MUSE and requires a UHM login.
A premier journal of Pacific scholarship, produced by the UH-Mānoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies.