Data Journalism Handbook (2012) (UHM users only)A collection of tips and techniques from leading journalists, professors, software developers, and data analysts on how data can be either the source of data journalism or a tool with which the story is told; or both
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media (2012) (UHM users only)Examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Poltics (2014) (UHM users only)Explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics and the amazing transformations that social media use is rendering in other political systems resistant to democratization and change.
Handbook of Communication Science (2010) (UH users only)This revision of a classic volume presents state-of-the-art reviews of established and emerging areas of communication science and provides an intellectual compass that points the way to future theorizing about communication processes.
Handbook of Intercultural Communication (2007) (UHM users only)Multidisciplinary perspectives on intercultural communication / Intercultural perspectives on communicative practices and processes / Intercultural communication in different sectors of life / Issues and Debates / Assessing and developing intercultural competence
Handbook of Intercultural Discourse and Communication (2012) (UH users only)Features contributions from established researchers in sociolinguistics and intercultural discourse / Explores the theoretical perspectives underlying work in the field / Examines the history of the field, work in cross-cultural communication, and features of discourse / Establishes the scope of this interdisciplinary field of study / Includes coverage on individual linguistic features, such as indirectness and politeness, as well as sample analyses of IDC exchanges
International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008 with annual updates) (UHM users only)The International Encyclopedia of Communication spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Editorial areas include communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and
Library Resources for Communication StudiesThis site is a springboard that librarians, students, and researchers can use to find information in the area of communication studies. It is not exhaustive, rather it includes the core or primary resources within each category presented. The resources included within this site were selected by communication studies librarians serving as members of the Association of College and Research Libraries Educational and Behavioral Sciences Section Communication Studies Committee.