Research Guides: Literature of the Pacific: Research Strategies

Useful Subject Headings

Use these subject headings to narrow your search in OneSearch, via an "Advanced Search" selecting subject from the dropdown menu. [NOTE: When it comes to Pacific literature, cataloging records in OneSearch can be inconsistent -- it's worthwhile using these same subject terms and searching using "keyword anywhere" to help find terms that are in somewhere other than the subject headings field of cataloging records.]

Islands of the Pacific--In literature

Oceania -- in literature

Pacific Island literature--History and criticism

Pacific Island literature (English)

Pacific Islands poetry (English)

Narrow searches further by island group:

Papua New Guinean literature (English)

Solomon Islands poetry (English)

and etc.

For works about a specific author, use "Subject Begins With" by author's last name:

Holt, John Dominis

Wendt, Albert

and etc.

For a more general list of useful Pacific-related subject headings, click here:

Useful subject headings for browsing the UHM library catalog by Karen Peacock
Publication Date: 2000
A selective list of heavily used Pacific subject headings.

OneSearch Mānoa

OneSearch Manoa
OneSearch is a "discovery tool" that searches for journal articles, books, films and more using a single search. These searches include what is physically in the university library, as well as a huge amount of online material. When looking specifically for books, once you've done a search, use the "Availability" filter on the left side of your screen to limit results to "peer-reviewed journals." You can further limit these results to electronic journal articles by selecting "Available Online" from the options under "Availability" (also in the left-hand column).

Databases, Indexes & Online Document Collections

Australasian Literature Online
Creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Starting in the 1930s and spanning up to the present, these in-copyright fictional and poetry works will be cross-searchable for the first time. With 120,000 pages at completion, and enriched with interviews, Australasian Literature is an incomparable resource for researchers in the fields of Literature, Creative Writing, Post-Colonial Studies, Immigration Studies, Social Studies, Anthropology and more.
JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
NOTE: MLA International Bibliography is only available via EBSCOhost beginning Jan. 1, 2019.
Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.