Government Documents - Smithsonian Institution: Other Smithsonian Museums

The National Collection of Fine Arts was established in 1937. Its name was changed to National Museum of American Art in 1980. It became the Smithsonian American Art Museum (SAAM) by an act of Congress in 2000.

All of our holdings of SAAM publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch.

Two Smithsonian museums, the Freer Gallery of Art, which opened to the public in 1923, and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, opened in 1987, together form the National Museum of Asian Art.

All of our holdings of Freer Gallery of Art and Sackler Gallery publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch.

The National Gallery of Art was established in 1937 through the largesse of Andrew W. Mellon.

All of our holdings of National Gallery of Art publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch.

The National Air Museum was established in 1946 at the Smithsonian Institution. In 1966 the name was changed to National Air and Space Museum. The museum's collection dates back to 1876, although collection-building did not begin in earnest until 1889.

Government Documents holds a small collection of NASM general publications (call no. SI 9). All of our holdings of NASM publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch. Series include:

Smithsonian annals of flight (call no. SI 9.9:) Publications on aeronautics and astronautics.

Air and space magazine

The National Portrait Gallery opened to the public in 1968, but it was established in 1961 to collect portraits of people who have made important contributions to American history.

Government Documents holds a small collection of NPG general publications (call no. SI 11). All of our holdings of NPG publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch. Many of the gallery's publications are not distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program, so the UHM Library does not automatically receive copies of them.

The National Museum of African Art (NMAfA) was established in 1964 as a private institution. It became part of the Smithsonian in 1979.

Government Documents holds a small collection of NMAfA general publications (call no. SI 14). All of our holdings of NMAfA publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch.

The National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) was established in 2003 and opened in 2016.

The National Museum of the American Indian was established by legislation introduced by Senator Daniel K. Inouye in 1989. The museum brought together the American Indian collections of the George Gustav Heye Center in New York City, founded in 1922, and the Smithsonian Institution. The Heye collection became part of the Smithsonian in June 1990, and represents approximately 85% of the holdings of the NMAI. The museum has three locations: the Heye Collection in New York, the museum on the National Mall in Washington, D.C., which opened in 2004, and the Cultural Resources Center in Suitland, Maryland.

The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden was established in 1966, the result of a bequest from Joseph H. Hirshhorn, an important collector.

Government Documents holds a small collection of HMSG general publications (call no. SI 13). All of our holdings of Hirshhorn publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch.