Research Guides: World War II Internment Camps: Research Strategies

Related guides

Incarceration of Japanese & Japanese Americans in Hawaiʻi
by Jodie Mattos Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 194 views this year
History Research Guide
by Sarah Nakashima Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 380 views this year
Government Documents - Department of the Interior
by Gwen Sinclair Last Updated Jun 20, 2024 124 views this year

Finding Books (and More) at UH Manoa Library

OneSearch includes the library catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. It also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Research strategies

Primary sources are original works that provide the raw material for a researcher's analysis. Examples are diaries, films, performances, statistical data, and historical records. While some of these sources may be available online, often they are only available in libraries or archives. Some archival sources for information about internment camps are listed under the Internet Resources tab. A librarian can suggest additional places for you to search based on your interests.

Secondary sources are books or articles that analyze primary sources. To search for secondary sources, you can use databases to find journal and periodical artices, and use the Hawaii Voyager online catalog to find books.

If you need materials that are not available in the UH Manoa Library, you may use the interlibrary loan service to request items from other libraries. This service is available to UHM faculty, students, and staff only.

Databases

A UHM login is required to use these resources.

JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
America: History & Life w/Full Text
Find journal articles about internment camps, War Relocation Authority, and other topics.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Full-text congressional reports and documents about internment camps. Search for the subjects
* German-American internment in the U.S. (1942-1945)
* Italian-American internment in the U.S. (1942-1945)
* Japanese-American internment in the U.S. (1942-1945)

ProQuest Congressional
Search for congressional reports, documents, and hearings related to internment of civilians.
Dissertations & Theses
Search for full-text PhD dissertations and master's theses about internment.

Subject Guide

Gwen Sinclair

Email Me

Contact:

2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822

808-956-2549

Subjects: Government Documents