Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aquatic Plant Information Retrieval System (APIRS) Online Database
The Aquatic Plant Information Retrieval System (APIRS) database is a free online bibliographic resource devoted to the literature about aquatic, wetland and invasive plants. The database includes annotated citations for more than 71,000 research articles, books and reports about plant ecology, physiology, utilization and control. It includes items in many languages dating back to the 18th century. APIRS is a project of the Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants, University of Florida-IFAS.
Biocontrol of Forest Weeds
(D. Gardner, 1998) Reports on the biocontrol projects of Dr. Donald Gardner formerly in the UH Manoa Botany Department; includes work on some of Hawaii's most serious invasive plants such as Myrica faya and Miconia calvescens.
Hawaiian Ecosystems at Risk (HEAR) Project
One of the most comprehensive information resources available about invasive species in Hawaii. HEAR contains information on many invasive alien plants and animals, including detailed maps of known populations by island. Funded by the Pacific Basin Information Node (PBIN) of the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII).
Hawaii's Most Invasive Horticultural Plants
The introduction discusses what makes plant species invasive in Hawaii and how these plants arrive; includes a link to a list of plants listed by botanical name. This Web site is from the Hawaii State Alien Species Coordinator (Department of Land & Natural Resources [DLNR], Division of Forestry & Wildlife [DOFAW]).
HawaiiRREA's YouTube Channel
Videos on controlling miconia and other weeds of natural areas from Dr. James Leary, CTAHR
Impact of Alien Plants on Hawaii's Native Biota
(Clifford W. Smith; 1996) Full text of this paper in HTML format; includes discussions of problem alien plants in Hawaii by island and by vegetation zone.
Invaders Database System: Noxious Weeds in the US and Canada
Searchable database of the noxious weed lists for all U.S. states and six southern provinces of Canada. Can be searched by plant name, state name, or by clicking on a map. Supported by the USDA Agricultural Research Service.
Invasive Marine Algae of Hawaii
Handbook of invasive red, green, and brown algae and seagrasses in Hawaii. Maintained by the Department of Botany, University of Hawaii at Manoa, and supported by the Bishop Museum, National Marine Fisheries Service, Packard Foundation, and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. (See Guidebook of Introduced Marine Species of Hawaii for companion Web site.)
Pacific Island Ecosystems at Risk (PIER)
Reports on invasive plant species in American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Kiribati, Niue, Palau, Samoa, and Tonga. Produced by the Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry, USDA.
Weed Control Methods Handbook
(Mandy Tu, Callie Hurd, & John M. Randall; 2001 Published by The Nature Conservancy's Wildland Invasive Species Program, the handbook covers both manual and chemical controls. Each chapter available separately as Word or pdf file many of which have been updated since the original publication; entire manual available in pdf and zip formats.
Weed Risk Assessments for Hawaii and Pacific Islands
Searchable database as well as lists by genus and species for risk assessments of about 200 introduced plants. Developed by Dr. Curt Daehler, Botany Department, University of Hawaii at Manoa.
Weeds of Hawaii’s Pastures and Natural Areas: An Identification and Management Guide
by P. Motooka, L. Castro, D. Nelson, G. Nagai, and L. Ching. ©2003, College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources, University of Hawaii at Manoa. This book includes a quick visual key to help quickly identify weedy trees, shrubs, vines, herbs and grasses found in Hawaii. Individual fact sheets from the publication are available in pdf format at this URL.
Need More Help?
E-mail Sci/Tech: firstname.lastname@example.org
Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday 9 am-4 pm
Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone: