Skip to Main Content

Botany: Find Articles

Recommended Journal Article Databases

Biological Abstracts
via Web of Science: 1969 - present
A basic research tool for biological and biomedical sciences. Includes full bibliographic citations and current life science abstracts derived from approximately 7,000 biological and biomedical journals from over ninety countries. Guide to Biological Abstracts
Web of Science
via Web of Science: 1980 - present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. Allows citation searching as well as searching by topic or author. Guide to using Web of Science
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles in many disciplines, including the biological sciences.
CABI Digital Library (CAB Abstracts)
1910 - present
Agriculture and allied fields, including rural tourism development and world agricultural economics. Over 10,000 journals, monographs, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, patents from over 100 countries. Guide to CAB Direct
JSTOR Global Plants
Community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
via ProQuest: 1971 - present
Coverage includes all biological and ecological aspects of marine; fisheries, aquaculture; oceanography.

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
open access
A consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life ().
Kew Bibliographic Databases
The web interface for Kew Record, the Plant Micromorphology Bibliographic Database, and the Economic Botany Bibliographic Database. Freely available; registration required for some services.

OneSearch Mānoa

OneSearch Mānoa
OneSearch is a somewhat comprehensive search tool that includes journals, e-journals, electronic journal articles, ScholarSpace repository items, and more. Guide to OneSearch
more...less...
OneSearch does not search all of the library's databases and indexes.

Some Recommended Journals

Annual Review of Plant Biology
Print format 1950 - 2008; Electronic format 1950 - present
New Phytologist
Electronic version 1902 - present
Pacific Science
Print format 1947 - present; Electronic format 1947 - present
Plant Cell
Electronic version 1989 - present
Plant Journal
Electronic version 1991 - present
Plant Physiology
Electronic version 1926 - present
Trends in Plant Science
Print version 2001 - 2004; Electronic version 1996 - present

Useful Links

Journals
Databases
A-Z list of databases
Science & Technology Databases
Browse a list of databases for finding articles and other research literature; covers all science subject areas

ScholarSpace at University of Hawaii at Manoa
Digital repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community.
Dissertations & Theses Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Library Maps

Some Useful Call Numbers

Journals in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.

Botany call numbers start with QK

Biology call numbers start with QH

Horticulture call numbers start with SB

Need More Help?

Sci/Tech Librarians Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2024 11:21 AM
URL: https://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/botany
Print Page

Subjects: Botany

Tags: botany, economic botany, invasive plants, native plants, plant sciences, plants, taxonomy