Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents - Department of Justice: Government Documents Home Page

Guide to publications of the Department of Justice, including crime, prisons, crime scene investigation, offender treatment, law enforcement, and related topics.

About the Government Documents Collection

Location: Hamilton Library, ground floor (basement)

Reference hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday; other hours by appointment

Contact us Telephone: (808) 956-8230

Government Documents staff

The Government Documents Collection is comprised of two collections:

The Federal Documents Collection

The United Nations Collection

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code).

Documents from the State of Hawai`i are kept in the Hawaiian Collection.

Find Books

To locate publications and documents in the Government Documents Collection:

Learn about the SuDocs classification system

These tutorials will familiarize you with the SuDoc system used to arrange federal documents on the shelf:

COVID-19 Information

The University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library is currently open only to faculty, students, and staff in compliance with state efforts to stop the spread of COVID-19. Non-affiliated users may request an appointment to view documents. We in the Government Documents Collection are working and are available to answer reference questions by email (govdocs@hawaii.edu) or telephone (808-956-8230). We will provide electronic copies of documents when possible.

covid-19 photograph

Last update: 24 March 2020

View our instructional videos

View instructional videos related to government information.