Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Office of Justice Programs
The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) encompasses several bureaus, including:
Master list of all the collections of data available from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Use these extensive indexes and abstracts to identify statistics available fulltext in the library's SRI Microfiche Collection (microfiche S50003) or other print and online sources.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Hall of Justice
Hall of Justice, a project of the Sunlight Foundation, is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.
There are many statistical series and resources in our collection or online. Some of the more important ones:
Uniform Crime Reports
Statistics about violent and property crimes in the U.S. and by state, as reported by law enforcement agencies.
Full text of historical statistical publications, mostly from the 1980s-2000s
Correctional populations in the United States
"Presents statistics on persons supervised by adult correctional systems in the United States at yearend 2014, including offenders supervised in the community on probation or parole and those incarcerated in state or federal prison or local jail." Statistics for the entire U.S. and states.
Federal Justice Statistics Program
"Provides annual data on workload, activities, and outcomes associated with federal criminal cases."
Based on survey data, this bulletin "presents estimates of rates and levels of criminal victimization in the United States ... includes violent victimization (rape or sexual assault, robbery, aggravated assault, and simple assault) and property victimization (burglary, motor vehicle theft, and property theft)."
Sourcebook of criminal justice statistics
Statistics covering 1973-2002; older editions are available in print or on CD-ROM.
We have a number of congressional hearings, reports, and documents concerning these programs and agencies. You can search for these in ProQuest Congressional (UHM login required) and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (UHM login required). We also have general publications, handbooks, manuals, pamphlets, reports, and older statistical publications.
State of Hawaii Data Book by
Call Number: HA4007 .H356
Publication Date: 1967-
The Data Book includes a chapter on law enforcement, courts, and prisons.