Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents - General Services Administration, National Archives: National Archives

Guide to our GSA and Archives publications, covering topics such as public buildings, regulations, procurement and contracting, and federal archives.

Contact NARA

Submit an inquiry

Telephone: 1-866-272-6272

See if your question has been answered in History Hub, or submit a question to History Hub

 

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) was established in 1984. It was formerly known as the National Archives and Records Service, established in 1934 and later part of the General Services Administration. NARA maintaines the archives of federal agencies, the President, and Congress; advises federal agencies about records retention; and houses the Office of the Federal Register.

Government Documents has a partial collection of NARA publications, including the following series:

Special lists (GS 4.7:) Lists of federal records by subject area

Preliminary inventories (GS 4.10:) Lists of records held by NARA, arranged by agency

Prologue (GS 4.23:) Journal of the National Archives

Reference information paper (AE 1.124:) Topical guides to records

Our print and microfiche holdings of NARA publications are fully cataloged. Search for them in OneSearch.

Cartoon of a man climbing out of a circle of file cabinets

Cut off your files before they cut you off!

Graphic showing symbols of America

Preliminary inventory of the records of the Civilian Conservation Corps

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Gwen Sinclair
Contact:
2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822
808-956-2549