Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents - United Nations Collection: UN Research

UN Research Guides 

Links to research guides created by many different UN agencies.

UN Documentation Overview 

This online guide to United Nations documentation is prepared by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library at UN headquarters in New York. It provides an overview of the documentation and publications issued by the UN (e.g. reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications and press releases) and gives guidance on how to work with them.

DagDok 

DagDok is a guide to UN documentation created by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library, a special library within Uppsala University Library in Sweden. Named after Sweden’s Dag Hammarskjöld, the UN Secretary General (1953-1961), the library focuses on political science, peace and conflict research, international relations, and the United Nations, among other topics.

Columbia University Law Library Research Guide 

OneSearch provides access to books, journals, audiovisual media, and other materials in the UH libraries. All United Nations materials in the UN collection are cataloged and their holdings are listed in OneSearch.

AccessUN (UHM only) serves as an index to the current and retrospective UN documents and publications including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Use this tool to locate documents available in the Readex UN microfiche collection (1946-2004) located in the Government Documents reading room. For 2005 and subsequent years, documents are available electronically through the UN Official Document System (ODS) described below.

The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.

UN Digital Library includes the catalog for the Dag Hammarskjold Library at the United Nations headquarters in New York City and at the Library of the UN office at Geneva.  It includes official documents and publications as well as commercial and non-UN sources held in the Dag Hammarskjold Library.  Users can also search for voting records and speeches (links to full-text) made at various bodies of the UN.  A useful aid to search the catalog is its Thesaurus.

WorldCat (Public and UHM only versions) is the world's largest network of library content and services.  Includes UN documents located in numerous member libraries, including UHM.

Basic Facts About the United Nations
New York : United Nations.
Annual publication
Call number: Government Documents Ref. UN Per. B 29/Year

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements. 3rd ed., 4 v.
New York : Routledge, 2003
Call number: Government Documents Ref. GPZ 1.2:UN 4

Oxford Handbook on the United Nations (online access for UHM only)
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008

United Nations Handbook
Wellington : Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Annual publication
Call number: Government Documents Ref. UN 3/Year

Yearbook of the United Nations.
New York : United Nations.
Annual publication
Call number: Government Documents UN Per. Y 32/year

Library of Congress Country Studies (previously issued as Country Studies/Area Handbooks, a joint Library of Congress/Department of the Army series) 

CIA World Factbook - information for 267 world entities including maps of the world, major regions and individual countries; flags of the world.  Print copy also available in the collection;Government Documents Ref. PREX 3.15: year

Major Department of State publications
   including:

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (UHM only)

The United Nations distinguishes publications, which are sold by the UN, from documents, which are official issuances from UN bodies. UN documents may be freely copied for non-commercial purposes with proper attribution. Publications of the UN are copyrighted. Prior express written permission is required in order to reproduce, republish, mirror, or translate any material from a book, periodical or other product from United Nations Publications. Permissions for reuse of United Nations content can be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC).

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Gwen Sinclair
Contact:
2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822
808-956-2549