Databases and Indexes - Government Documents - United Nations Collection - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

These databases require a UHM login for remote access:

United Nations iLibrary
United Nations iLibrary includes full-text publications that cover international peace and security, human rights, economic and social development, climate change, international law, governance, public health, and statistics. Most titles were published between 2010 and the present.

The following databases are free:

United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
ODS features comprehensive, though not complete, coverage of all types of publicly-available UN documentation, including: Resolutions going back to 1946 (Security Council, General Assembly, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council); Selected Security Council and General Assembly documents going back to 1985; Meeting Records; Reports; Letters; Daily Journals and Bulletins; Administrative Issuances; Administrative Tribunal Judgments.

United Nations Digital Library
UNDL incorporates digital content, mainly official UN documents and selected UN maps as well as speech and voting records.
more...less...
UNDL takes the place of UNBISnet, the online catalog of the UN Library.
Index to Proceedings
Annual bibliographic guide to the proceedings and documentation of the major organs. The Indexes are prepared by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library and are produced at the end of the session/year.

The databases listed below are freely accessible.

FAO Statistical Databases
Includes statistics on agriculture, forestry, fisheries and aquaculture, land-use, soils and other food and agriculture-related databases.
ILOSTAT
"The world's leading source on labor statistics."
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Statistics database of refugee information.

UNdata
Undata, formerly UN Common Database (UNCDB), pools major United Nations databases and those of several international organizations into a single Internet environment covering a whole range of statistics including Population, Industry, Energy, Trade and National Accounts. When fully developed, UNdata will have a comprehensive array of international and national databases providing the world instant access to a wealth of statistical information.

The following databases require a UHM login for remote access.

World Development Indicators
1960-present. Provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series data for more than 200 countries and 18 country groupings. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Updated monthly. Export to Excel and CSV.
UN Comtrade Commodity Trade Statistics Database
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database. Annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade.
International Financial Statistics
Current and historical financial and economic data for IMF member countries. Time series data from 1948. Includes data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Use these extensive indexes and abstracts to identify statistics available fulltext in the library's SRI Microfiche Collection (microfiche S50003) or other print and online sources.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Children

State of the World’s Children. The UN’s annual publication on various issues affecting children with supporting data and statistics.

Finance

International Monetary Fund (IMF). IMF publications, including Country Reports, Working Papers, Occasional Papers, and Policy Discussion Papers. Some of the statistical databases are fee-based - see Data and Statistics.

World Bank Documents and Reports. Full-text of World Bank project reports, including country and economic sector work, evaluation reports, working papers, and project appraisals.

Food and Agriculture

FAO Document Repository. The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format.

Health

Joint United Nations Programme on AIDS (UNAIDS). Find data about HIV infenction and AIDS worldwide.

World Health Organization publications include annual World Health Report, 1995-present, and World Health Statistics, 2005-present.

World Health Organization Documentation. Documentation of the WHO executive board decisions and assemblies.

International Treaties

U.N. Treaty Collection includes UN Treaty series (UNTS), League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS), Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (MTDSG), and the Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements (MS).

Justice

International Court of Justice. Principle judicial organ of the United Nations. Includes decisions, written pleadings, and verbatim records of oral proceedings.

Question of Palestine

UNISPAL, United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine. Texts of current and historical UN material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation.

Trade

United Nations Conference on Trade & Development Digital Library. Includes online texts of UNCTAD discussion papers, occasional papers, globalization and development strategies and much more.

World Trade Organization Working Documents. Full Text 1995 to the present. Documents include text of the trade policy reviews and other trade topics as well as official documents and resources, including those of GATT (predecessor to WTO)

Subject Guide

Gwen Sinclair

Email Me

Contact:

2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822

808-956-2549

Subjects: Government Documents

Government Documents - United Nations Collection: Databases and Indexes

Subject Guide