Skip to main content

Gender Identity and Sexual Identity in the Pacific and Hawai'i: Research Tools & Strategies

Information about gender identity and sexual identity in the Pacific island region, including Hawai'i. Provides suggested resources and search strategies.

Keywords & subject headings

Keywords

  • Aikane
  • Akava'ine (akavaine)
  • Binabinaaine
  • Faʻafafine (faafafine)
  • Faʻafatama (faafatama)
  • Fafafine
  • Fakafefine
  • Fakalati / Fakaleti / Fakeleiti
  • Mahu
  • Mahukane
  • Mahuwahine
  • Mahuvahine
  • Pinapinaaine
  • Raerae / Rae rae
  • Takatapui
  • Vaka sa lewa lewa
  • Whakawahine

Subject heading terms (LCSH)

  • Gay men
  • Gays
  • Gender identity
  • Homophobia
  • Homosexuality
  • Lesbians
  • Pacific Islander American gays
  • Pacific Islander American lesbians
  • Same-sex marriage
  • Same-sex partner abuse
  • Sex role
  • Social work with gays
  • Transgender people
  • Transsexuals
  • Transvestism
  • Transvestites 

3. Databases & Indexes (for articles and media)

Pacific Dissertations & Theses

These are lists or databases that provide an index and possibly full-text access to dissertations and theses.

5. The Googles

Google searches can provide good overviews, but remeber that they will not get you everything.

Google Scholar (searching for articles in scholarly journals)

  • UH users: access from the Library webpage, click on "Go" button (provides you with automatic access to UH online subscriptions)

Library homepage 'Featured Resources' menu

  • To access UH-accessible articles, click on the link to the right
Google scholar search results
  • If you find an article in Google Scholar that the library doesn't subscribe to electronically, search in the Voyager catalog to see if we subscribe to the print version. 
  • If the library doesn't subscribe to print, they can be requested through the  Interlibrary Loan service.

Google Books (searching full text within a book)

  • Depending on copyright you may get the full book, or just a "snippet", but usually enough to tell you if it would be a useful resource.
  • Remember to check the  Voyager catalog if you want to see the print version of the book. Almost all books should be available in the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections.  Any that aren't can be requested through the Interlibrary Loan service.