Research Guides: Geography: Reference Sources

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Reference Tools

Bishop Museum - Botany Databases The following are the current selection of on-line databases for botanical information that have been compiled by the Hawaii Biological Survey. * Natural Sciences Taxonomic Name and Specimen Search * Herbarium Pacificum Type Specimens * Hawaiian Vascular Plant Checklists * Annotated Checklist of Cultivated Plants of Hawaii* Invasive Algae of Hawaii Database
Dictionary of Geography (2004) (UHM users only) This dictionary provides coverage of the terms used in both human and physical geography. There are over 6,300 definitions across the following fields: cartography, surveying, remote sensing, statistics, meteorology, climatology, biogeography, ecology, simple geology, soils, geomorphology, population, migration, settlement, agriculture, industry, transport, development, and diffusion.
Dictionary of Human Geography (2009) (UHM users only) Online electronic book
PLANTS Database The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.
Rainfall Atlas of Hawaii The Rainfall Atlas of Hawaii is a set of maps of the spatial patterns of rainfall for the major Hawaiian Islands. Maps are available for mean monthly and annual rainfall. The maps represent the best estimates of the mean rainfall for the 30-yr base period 1978–2007.

Featured Book

Geography of Growth: Spatial Economics and Competitiveness

is available at the Hamilton Library.

Featured Book

SAGE Handbook of GIS and Society is available at the Hamilton Library.