Research Guides: Geography: Home

Geography Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. The Hamilton Library Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers geography from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have significant amounts of material on geography for those geographic areas. The Science & Technology Collection includes information in related discplines.

Manoa MAGIS: The Library's Maps, Aerial, and GIS unit offers spatial information services including on-line viewing of aerial photography and supporting Geographic Information Systems teaching and research on campus.

Related Subjects

Selected research guides for disciplines related to geography.

General Resources

Use the General/Multi-disciplinary Resources guide for information on your topic from general encyclopedias and databases, dissertations, and more.

General/Multi-disciplinary Resources

Geography Research Guide

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in geography. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for geography research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, OneSearch Manoa, or the librarians at the main reference desk.

Find BOOKS

Find JOURNAL ARTICLES

Academic Search Complete Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
GreenFILE Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

Quick REFERENCE

Dictionary of Human Geography (2009) (UHM users only)
Bishop Museum - Botany Databases The following are the current selection of on-line databases for botanical information that have been compiled by the Hawaii Biological Survey. * Natural Sciences Taxonomic Name and Specimen Search * Herbarium Pacificum Type Specimens * Hawaiian Vascular Plant Checklists * Annotated Checklist of Cultivated Plants of Hawaii* Invasive Algae of Hawaii Database

Subject Liaison

David Brier

Contact:

Office: 808-956-2746

Fax: 808-956-5968

Email:daveb@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Library

2550 McCarthy Mall

Honolulu HI 96822

Subjects: Anthropology, Architecture, Communication, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Geography, Journalism, Law, Peace Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology, Urban & Regional Planning, Women's Studies