Articles - Ethnic Studies 320 - Hawaiʻi & the Pacific - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Peer-reviewed Journals

The Contemporary Pacific
Call Number: DU1 .C665
Publication Date: 1989-
Available online here.
Vol 1 (1989) - Vol 30 (2018) available to all via ScholarSpace.
Vol 31 (2019) available via Project MUSE and requires a UHM login.
A premier journal of Pacific scholarship, produced by the UH-Mānoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies.
Journal of Pacific History
Call Number: DU1 .J68
Publication Date: 1966-
Available online here.
Vol 1 (1966) - current issue available with UHM login.
Oceania by University of Sydney
Call Number: DU28 .O3
Publication Date: 1930-
Vol 66 (1996) - current issue available online with UHM login.
Contributions in the field of social and cultural anthropology. Its primary regional orientation is to the peoples of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and insular southeast Asia.
Pacific Studies by Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Call Number: DU1 .P38
Publication Date: 1977-
Available online.
Vol 1 (1977) – Vol 25 (2002) available for all.
A multidisciplinary journal devoted to the study of the peoples of the Pacific Islands.

Hawaiian Journal of History
Provides full text access and searching to the holdings of the Hawaiian Journal of History.

AlterNative (Auckland, N.Z. : 2005) by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga.
Call Number: GN380 .A484
Publication Date: 2005-
Available online here with UHM login.
"Dedicated to the analysis and dissemination of native indigenous knowledge that uniquely belongs to cultural, traditional, tribal and aboriginal peoples as well as first-nations, from around the world. AlterNative spans themes of origins, place, peoples, community, culture, traditional and oral history, heritage, colonialism, power, intervention, development and self-determination."
Te Kaharoa : the ejouranl on indigenous Pacific issues by Auckland University of Technology
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2008-
A "free-access, multi-disciplinary, refereed, e-journal focusing on indigenous Pacific issues." (Quoted from home-page.)

JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text journal backfiles in subjects such as history, political science, and Asian studies.
Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar for research journal articles, citations to dissertations and books, technical reports, conference proceedings, etc. Links to UHM Library's full-text databases and e-journals.
PAIS International
PAIS International is an index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
An index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. The HPJI covers all subject areas, and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else.

Do an Advanced Search for "SOCIAL PROCESS IN HAWAII" and your topic or ethnic group to find articles in that journal published by the UHM Sociology Dept.

Pacific Islands Report
Created by the East West Center Pacific Islands Development Program in mid 1990s. Ceased in October 2017.
Civil Beat
"Dedicated to cultivating an informed body of citizens, all striving to make Hawaii a better place to live ... through investigative and watchdog journalism, in-depth enterprise reporting, analysis and commentary that gives readers a broad view on issues of importance to our community."