Research Guides: HIST366: Women in Oceania: Advanced Steps

Digital Repositories

There are many institutions with digital repositories where you can find a wealth of Pacific research content. These repositories are full-text searchable, so a good strategy is to do multiple searches with different combinations of keywords.

ScholarSpace
A digital institutional repository of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa (UHM), and managed by the UHM Library. Scholarspace contains material produced by UH-Manoa affiliates (students/faculty/staff) as well as material produced by the East-West Center (a federally funded agency located on the UH-Manoa campus).
eVols
A digital repository managed by the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library, containing digital material produced from sources outside the UH-Manoa research community.
DigitalNZ = Ā-Tihi O Aotearoa
A New Zealand digital repository managed by the National Library of New Zealand that brings together content from multiple institutions.
Digital Pasifik
This "search aggregator" allows users to search the holdings of multiple institutions in Hawaii, the Pacific and elsewhere for online, open-access materials.
TROVE
Trove is an Australian digital repository managed by the National Library of Australia that brings together content from multiple institutions.
Gallica
The digital repository managed by the Bilbiothèque nationale de France (the French National Library). Material mostly in French and related to the French affiliated Pacific.
Google Books
Digitized from the full published holdings of major libraries across the United States and abroad. Includes a good selection of Hawaiʻi and Pacific titles. Allows you to search within the text of many of the books, but only books published before 1923 will be available online in full. Books published before 1923 are in the public domain.

Pacific Historic Newspapers Online

Both the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have a great many historic newspapers, dating from the 19th century through present. Many are in microfilm, and most have not been indexed, meaning that if you're searching for a specific event, your only option may be to go to the microfilms and begin reading papers dating from the period you're interested in. However, some have been digitized, and in these cases are searchable and readable online.

British Newspaper Index
Coverage ranges from the 18th century forward to early 20th. Payment is required to view full text, but the index can still be useful in searching out citations to news coverage.

Chronicling America
Searchable full-text newspapers from throughout the U.S., primarily in English language. Hawaiʻi newspapers cover 1840-1922. Access the Chronicling America legacy site here

Marianas Variety (1972-1999)
Search and download the full text of Saipan's major daily newspaper, from 1972-1999. Coverage includes local news as well as news of Micronesia and the Pacific more broadly.
Papers Past (New Zealand)
The National Library of New Zealand hosts this site, which includes New Zealand papers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
TROVE
Hosted by the National Library of Australia, TROVE searches across a vast array of digital content produced by numerous Australian institutions. Digitized newspapers cover the years from 1803 to 1954.

News aggregators

News agregators are websites that gather news from a variety of other sources, or in some cases simply offer links directly to other news sources. They generally feature the major news stories of the Pacific and are therefore the best place to start for most basic news research.

PACNEWS
Created and maintained by the Pacific Islands News Association.
Pacific.Scoop
Pacific.Scoop is a regional “hub” partnership venture between AUT University’s Pacific Media Centre and the independent news portal Scoop Media.
Newzedge (New Zealand)
"A digest of stories from the world's online media mapping news, innovations and achievements by New Zealanders internationally." (Quoted from website home-page) Published once a week on Fridays.
Pacific Islands Report
Created by the East-West Center Pacific Island Development Program. NOTE: The Pacific Islands Report is currently being redeveloped, and may not be available at this time.