Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Databases to Find Journal Articles
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
New York Times
NOTE: You must be a UH Manoa student, faculty or staff member to use this resource. You will need to create a free personal account via the link above to access the New York Times. Once you have created an account via the above link, you can access the New York Times by logging in directly from NYTimes.com. Your account will be good for one year; once it expires, you may renew your personal account via the above link.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Indexes to Hawaii Articles in Magazines and Journals
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
Citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific.
Social Process in Hawaii, a publication of the Dept. of Sociology, is indexed here. Do an Advanced Search and type SOCIAL PROCESS IN HAWAII as the "Journal Title" and PUERTO RICANS (for example) as the "Keyword".
Social Process in Hawaii
Published by the UHM Dept. of Sociology and has published special issues on various Hawaii ethnic groups. Not all issues are available full-text here.
Hawaiian Journal of History
Provides full text access to the holdings of the Hawaiian Journal of History, up to 2017. You can find full text of articles from 2017 to present in the Academic Search Complete database.
Star Advertiser Online
Full text access to the Honolulu Advertiser, 1999 to current. Login with your Hawaii State Library card number (not your UH ID number).
Interlibrary loan (ILL)
Click the "Login to ILL" link and login with your UH username and password. ILL is to request materials not owned by UHM Library, things that are lost or missing or were canceled. Textbooks will not be requested.
Keep in mind that COVID-19 has affected interlibrary loans for books so consider submitting chapter requests in lieu of loans as some libraries on the continent and internationally are not loaning books at this time.