Research Guides: POLS/SUST 387: Politics of the Ocean: Find Newspaper & "Popular Press" Articles

Pacific Historic Newspapers Online

Both the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have a great many historic newspapers, dating from the 19th century through present. Many are in microfilm, and most have not been indexed, meaning that if you're searching for a specific event, your only option may be to go to the microfilms and begin reading papers dating from the period you're interested in. However, some have been digitized, and in these cases are searchable and readable online.

British Newspaper Index
Coverage ranges from the 18th century forward to early 20th. Payment is required to view full text, but the index can still be useful in searching out citations to news coverage.

Chronicling America
Searchable full-text newspapers from throughout the U.S., primarily in English language. Hawaiʻi newspapers cover 1840-1922. Access the Chronicling America legacy site here

Marianas Variety (1972-1999)
Search and download the full text of Saipan's major daily newspaper, from 1972-1999. Coverage includes local news as well as news of Micronesia and the Pacific more broadly.
Papers Past (New Zealand)
The National Library of New Zealand hosts this site, which includes New Zealand papers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
TROVE
Hosted by the National Library of Australia, TROVE searches across a vast array of digital content produced by numerous Australian institutions. Digitized newspapers cover the years from 1803 to 1954.

Online Individual Titles (Licensed for UHM Use Only)

Honolulu Star-Advertiser Database
Search the full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 6, 2010 - present), the Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010) and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar. 18, 1996-June 6, 2010).
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Open-Access Honolulu Newspapers

The more frequently used current newspapers and news sources in Honolulu are listed here (see also Honolulu Star-Advertiser database above).

Honolulu Civil Beat
Online only. Started in May 2010. Focuses on Hawaiʻi politics, economy, education, social issues and other "civic affairs." Publishes up to six original articles per day.
Current access: The Civil Beat site allows users to access articles. If your use is frequent, the site will require creation of an account and at some point a subscription for continuing access. The library has not been able to establish a subscription to this site.
Historical access: Civil Beatʻs Archive lists old articles by date. The site also has a search box.

Hawaii Reporter
Online only. Started in 2002. Focuses on Hawaiʻi politics, government, education, business, from a relatively conservative perspective. From the Hawaii Reporter's website: "Though Hawaii Reporter publishes all points of view, the publication features many local and national columnists and contributors, the vast majority who are free market oriented."
Current access: Hawaii Reporter website.
Historical access: Hawaii Reporter archive.

Honolulu Weekly
Started in 1991; publication discontinued in 2013. Focused on a broad spectrum of life in Honolulu, including politics, government, business, education, Hawaiian issues, entertainment. Relatively liberal perspective. Available online in full-text searchable format.

For information about other Hawaiʻi newspapers, current and historical, see the Newpapers in Hawaiʻi guide.

News Aggregators

Websites that gather news from a variety of other sources. They generally feature the major news stories of the Pacific, so are a good place to start for most basic news research.

PACNEWS
News aggregation site created and maintained by the Pacific Islands News Association.
Pacific Scoop
Focused on New Zealand, but contains regional news.
Pacific Media Watch
Focused on news about journalism and media in the Pacific.
Pacific Islands Report
Created by the East West Center Pacific Islands Development Program in mid 1990s. Ceased in October 2017.