Research Guides: Japan Studies: E-Resources and ILL/DD hints: Google Tools

Google Books

Use Google Books to find information about your topic in books the UH Manoa Library may have on the shelves. Google Books provides a way to find information that might otherwise be hidden. Books published earlier than 1923 are in public domain and will usually be available to you in full-text, downloadable pdfs. Many Japanese books are available from the University of Michigan Library and Keio University Library.

Search in Voyager on the titles of books that you find in Google Books to locate them on the UH Manoa Library shelves.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great resource to add to your research routine - but it should never be used as a replacement for other online databases. To use Google Scholar to its fullest potential, treat it like one of our subscription databases and log into it through the library's webpage. That way, you will have immediate full text access when it is available.

Google Scholar
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

More information about setting up your Google Scholar
Learn more about the Google Scholar and set up for your own browser

Google Scholar Japanese

When you enter search words in Japanese, Google Scholar returns articles in Japanese.

(Example) Enter a search word ひきこもり, see all hits contain a word ひきこもり. Searches include the NII CiNii database and institutional repository sites in Japan.

How to set up your Google

Setting up Google Scholar to search University of Hawaii resources

First visit the Google Scholar prefrences page hereUnder the Library Links section type "University of Hawaii"

Check the box that says University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full-Text @ UH Manoa you may also check University of Hawaii at Hilo - Full-Text @ UH Manoa if you would like to search both campuses resources.

Select any other preferences that you may have and click save
Now any search you perform on the main Google Scholar page should give results from UH resources
To refine your search see the Advanced Scholar Search page

Using Full-Text @ UH Manoa
Certain texts available through Google Scholar will only allow you to view one or two pages of a document and require you to log in to see the entire document. The Full-Text @ UH Manoa feature will allow you to view the entire document by logging in with your UH username and password.
When searching for a certain resource you might come across a link such as this:

If you click on the Full-Text @ UH Manoa link you will be redirected to the UH Hamilton Library website, click the button that says Login through the UH Web Login Service:

Click the button and then log in with your UH username and password; this will unlock the full document for viewing.