Ethnic Studies 345: Sounds of Race and Inequality

Sounding Out! is a weekly online publication, a networked academic archive, and a dynamic group platform bringing together sound studies scholars, sound artists and professionals, and readers interested in the cultural politics of sound and listening. Every Monday, writers offer well-researched, well-written, and accessible interventions in sound studies, directing the field’s energy toward the social, cultural, and political aspects of sound and listening, particularly their differential construction of and material impacts on variously positioned bodies.

Provides access to thousands of recordings in Library of Congress collections such as National Jukebox, the Sports Byline USA radio series, American Leaders Speak: Recordings from WWI, and more.

An explorative digital exhibit from Princeton University and the University of Southern California. Roaring 'Twenties allows the viewer to explore the historical soundscape of New York City.

"Founded in 1993, is an international association of affiliated organizations and individuals who share a common concern for the state of the world’s soundscapes. Our members represent a multi-disciplinary spectrum of individuals engaged in the study of the social, cultural, and ecological aspects of the sonic environment across the world."

Access to podcasts about acoustic ecology as well as sound recordings from all around the world.

Provoke! creates a home for creative-critical projects by makers, documentary artists, and sound scholars whose work presses at the boundaries of scholarship. Envisioned as “provocations” to existing forms of publication, these projects relate to one another through their deep engagement with sonic materials and innovative formal presentation. Rather than drawing from a particular historical period, culture, methodology, or set of aesthetic objects, Provoke! collects a series of processual explorations connected through an ethos of play, experimentation, and social interaction. Because of their sonically inspired, collaborative nature, many of these projects fall outside the purview of traditional academic publishing, yet each one offers a critical contribution to the ongoing dialogue about the future of sound studies and digital humanities.

This app visualizes the pitch and resonance of voices in recordings over time.

Women’s Audio Mission is a San Francisco-based recording studio and nonprofit dedicated to the advancement of women and gender-expansive people in music/audio production and creative technology, fields in which they are critically underrepresented. WAM uses music and media arts training, mentorship, and conferences to serve over 2,000 women, girls, and gender-expansive people annually in order to inspire them to amplify their voices and become the innovators of tomorrow.

See a complete list of Library of Congress collections that include audio recordings. Users can also search the Library of Congress collection for digitized audio recordings covering many topics.

One of the largest open access digital recording archives, including The Great 78 Project. Listen to everything from podcasts to news recordings to digitized records.

The Lomax Digital Archive provides free access to audio/visual collections compiled across seven decades by folklorist Alan Lomax (1915–2002) and his father John A. Lomax (1867–1948). They contain folk and traditional music recordings with ethnographic context.

Her Noise Archive is a resource f collected materials investigating music and sound histories in relation to gender bringing together a wide network of women artists who use sound as a medium.