Ethnic Studies 345: Sounds of Race and Inequality

Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent with approximately 200,000 streaming music tracks available online. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.

Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label streaming audio database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Classical Music Library includes more than 50,000 recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Naxos Music Library allows you to stream the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of more than 400,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Required: Windows Media Player. For best results, use Microsoft Internet Explorer. NOTE: Only 5 users allowed at a time. If you cannot login, try again later.

Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press delivers more than 82,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" video platform for college campuses. UH-Manoa licenses select videos from the platform for course reserves. Covering many topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, New Day Films.

Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It's also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline's history and of its future direction.