Primary sources - HIST 296 - Topics in History (Hawaiʻi and the World) - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Finding Publishing Primary Sources

OneSearch Manoa
Using the subject heading "SOURCES" in your search will limit to published, primary sources. You can also use the subject heading "PERSONAL NARRATIVES."
WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

Primary Sources Shown in Classroom

Letters regarding the Chinatown fire of 1900 in Honolulu
Call Number: MANUSCRIPT H00061
Catholic Women's Guild archives by Catholic Women's Guild
Call Number: MANUSCRIPT H00058
Publication Date: 1859-2012
The Catholic Women's Guild (CWG) is Hawaii's oldest active lay Catholic organization and traces its recorded history through several organizations to 1859. From monarchy to republic to territory to statehood, from the 19th through the 21st centuries, the Guild and its predecessor organizations have been active in a wide sweep of Hawaiʻi history. From the beginning through today, the charitable work of the Guild parallels local history across more than 150 years. The organization has addressed the challenges of orphans; Honolulu's bubonic plague outbreak and great Chinatown fire of 1900; the founding of the Catholic Diocese, the arrival of sisters and clergy from Europe and the United States; world wars; dental health of school children; and a wide variety of other social needs.
City of Honolulu
Call Number: G4384 .H6 1914 S6
Publication Date: 1914?
Map compiled for the Hawaii Promotion Committee by E.A. Southworth.

Online Primary Sources

Libraries, historical societies, museums, and private organizations have been digitizing their primary sources and making them available on the Internet.

Library of Congress digitized collections
Digitized collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Chronicling America
Chronicling America provides full-text access to selected English language historic newspapers (1836-1922) and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).This digital project will eventually cover all U.S. states and the District of Columbia.

Margaret Sanger Papers Project
The Margaret Sanger Papers Project is a historical editing project sponsored by the Department of History at New York University and formed in 1985 to locate, arrange, edit, research, and publish the papers of the noted birth control pioneer.
Digital Archives of Hawaiʻi, Hawaiʻi State Archives Digital Collections
Hawaiian Mission Houses Digital Collections

Examples of Published Primary Sources

These are examples of primary sources that have been transcribed and published in book form.

Hawaiian Surfing by John R. K. Clark
ISBN: 9780824834142
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Hawaiian Surfing is a history of the traditional sport narrated primarily by native Hawaiians
who wrote for the Hawaiian-language newspapers of the 1800s. An introductory section on
traditional surfing is followed by an exhaustive Hawaiian-English dictionary of surfing terms
and references from Hawaiian-language publications. The information in each of these sections
is supported by passages in Hawaiian, followed by English translations. The work concludes
with a glossary of English-Hawaiian surfing terms and an index of proper names, place
names, and surf spots.
Speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr., James Farmer, and John Ali, February 17-19, 1964 in Honolulu, Hawaii
Call Number: COMPACT DISC 16412
Publication Date: 1964
[1]. John Ali address at UH Andrews Amphitheatre, Feb. 17, 1964 (48:15)
[2]. James Farmer address at UH Andrews Amphitheatre, Feb. 18, 1964 (1:02:59)
[3]. Martin Luther King, Jr. address at UH Andrews Amphitheatre, Feb. 19, 1964 (1:01:39)
[4]. Martin Luther King, Jr. address at Kawaiahao Church for "Annual God and Country Service," Feb. 19, 1964 (44:37).
"My candid opinion" : the Sandwich Islands diaries of Joseph F. Smith, 1856-1857 by Joseph F. Smith (Joseph Fielding), 1838-1918
Call Number: BX8695.S63 A3 2011
ISBN: 1560852208
Publication Date: 2011

HIST 296 - Topics in History (Hawaiʻi and the World): Primary sources

Finding Publishing Primary Sources

Primary Sources Shown in Classroom

Online Primary Sources

Examples of Published Primary Sources