Maps

Hawaiʻi

We aspire to provide comprehensive coverage of Hawaiʻi. In addition to contemporary maps, we have a large collection of historical maps. Nevertheless, it is impossible for one organization to have all the maps, therefore, it is customary to rely on many agencies and collections in Hawaiʻi and beyond. If you do not find what you need in our digital and map collections, consult the links we provide to other collections. If you have questions about our holdings, please contact MAGIS staff.

Historical Maps

Hawaiʻi Government and Territory Survey, and Other Historical Maps, 1885-1904

The maps below are some of the most frequently requested historical maps of the principal islands of Hawaiʻi. Click on the View column to view or download a map. Click on the Preview column to interact with a georeferenced version of a map. Georeferenced TIFF versions of most of the maps are available to download by clicking on the Zipped TIFF file. To view basic metadata for these georeferenced maps, download the companion spreadsheet.

See also: Hawaiʻi Topographic Maps.

State Land Survey Office

The State Land Survey Office is the legacy institution of surveys and mapping of Hawaiʻi. The primary mission of the office is to prepare, furnish and maintain maps and descriptions of all public lands required by other State agencies for the issuance of Governor’s Executive Orders, general leases, grants of easements as well as the sale of government lands or purchase of private lands for public purposes. The Office serves as the official depository of thousands of Government Survey Registered Maps and other historic maps, field books, calculations and other survey information.

• State of Hawaiʻi Land Survey Map Search
  Search for File Plans, Government Survey Registered Maps, Hawaiʻi State Survey/Hawaiʻi Territorial Survey registered maps, plat maps, Hawaiian Home Lands plat maps, and more. Consult the indexes to determine map number. Many maps provided in both PDF and TIFF formats.
  • Registered Map search (beta - alternative to Land Survey Office Registered Map Search)
    Status: 1,335 of the roughly 3,200 Registered Maps are available to search, view, and download through MAGIS.
• State Land Survey Miscellaneous Maps
  Arranged by island. May include homestead, fish ponds, plantations, ahupuaʻa, and various other historic maps in PDF format.
• State Land Survey Honolulu Historical Maps
  Maps dating from 1897 to 1950 may be downloaded in PDF format.

City, Town, and Area Maps

Unless otherwise indicated by "via ...", maps are from the UH Library Map Collection's digital repository. Includes city and town maps, road maps, and other large-scale maps. Also check out named quadrangles, such as "Honolulu," from topographic sets throughout the decades and fire insurance maps of various areas. Note, images of maps from other libraries have their own use and download policies.

Hawaii

Maui

Oahu

Honolulu

Honouliuli

Kaneohe

Pearl Harbor

Waipahu

Miscellaneous

Island Maps

Unless otherwise indicated with "via ...", maps are in the UH Library Map Collection's digital repository. Includes whole island maps. Note, images of maps from other libraries have their own use and download policies.

Hawaiian Islands

Hawaii Island

Kahoolawe Island

Kauai Island

Lanai Island

Maui Island

Molokai Island

Niihau Island

Oahu Island

Fire Insurance Maps

We have different versions of these important historical maps which show building and street information for towns and cities at a large scale. The Hawaiʻi State Archives may have some maps that we do not. Consult the Union List of Sanborn & Other Fire Insurance Maps, Hawaiʻi (by Riley Moffat, revised by Philip Hoehn) for an inventory and indications where various Hawaiʻi sets may be held. The Library of Congress has one of the largest collections of Sanborn Maps with detailed explanation of the history and use of the maps. Several other sources provide useful information for reading and interpreting Sanborn maps:

• Sanborn Map Key (UC Berkeley): Sanborn Map Key to colors and symbols
• Sanborn map abbreviations (MIT): Sanborn abbreviations and descriptions
• Sanborn map abbreviations (UC Berkeley): Glossary of Sanborn Map abbreviations
• Description and utilization of the Sanborn map (Sanborn Map Company book, Penn State): Gives detailed descriptions of sample buildings. Useful to understanding the key.

Many of the Hawaii sets have been digitized and are available below:

Hawaii

• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Hilo, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Hilo, 1921 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Hilo, 1921-1957 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Honokaa, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Honokaa, 1914-1956 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Honomu, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Honomu, 1914-1956 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Kailua [North Kona], 1919 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Kapaau, 1921 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Kapaau, 1921-1956 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Kealakekua, 1921 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Laupahoehoe, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Laupahoehoe, 1914-1956 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Pahoa, 1914-1956 [via LC]

Kauai

• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Kapaa, 1921 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Waimea, 1919 [via LC]

Maui

• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Kahului, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Lahaina, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Lahaina, 1914-1950 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Paia, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Wailuku, 1914 [via LC]

Oahu

• Dakin Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1891, 1899, and 1906
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1914 (view index map)
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1914 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927, vol. 1 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927, vol. 2 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927-1950, vol. 1 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927-1950, vol. 2 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927-1950, reprinted 1951, vol. 1 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927-1950, reprinted 1951, vol. 2 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927, reprinted 1955, vol. 1 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927, reprinted 1956, vol. 2 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1953, vol. 4, Heeia District, Kailua District, Kaneohe District, Waimanalo District [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Honolulu, 1927, reprinted 1956, vol. 6 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Wahiawa, 1942 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Waialua, 1927 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Waialua, 1927-1957 [via LC]
• Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Waipahu, 1957-1957 [via LC]

Multiple Islands

• ​Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Sugar Mill and Cannery, 1919
• ​Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Sugar Mill and Cannery, 1919 [via LC]
• Digital Sanborn Maps, 1914-1957, Hawaii (via ProQuest, UH Library login required)
  An extensive collection of black & white scans covering dozens of areas across the islands.

Other Historical Maps and Data about Hawaiʻi

• AVA Konohiki
  ​Digitized land records and maps, with focus on documents that were written and produced in the 1840s and 1850s, when lands in Hawaiʻi first went into private ownership.
• Congressional Serials Set Maps (1817-1980) (UHM login required)
  Click on Newsbank Readex, then Serial Set Maps. Once logged in the Serial Set Maps database, click on Map Locations, then Hawaiʻi. Approximately 145 locations with over 500 maps. "Maps range from the great atlases to small individual maps clarifying very specific land questions, to great triangulation surveys, to the repetitive weekly weather maps, to the maps that made history as well as the maps of past history and to the purely serendipitous."
• Early mapping of Hawaiʻi (online access)
  Three volumes providing a complete history of the early mapping and surveying of Hawaiʻi. Many rare maps are reproduced in these publications.
  • The Early Mapping of Hawaiʻi, by Gary L. Fitzpatrick. Honolulu: Editions Limited, 1986.
  • Surveying the Mahele: Mapping the Hawaiian Land Revolution, by Riley M. Moffat and Gary L. Fitzpatrick. Honolulu: Editions Limited, 1995.
  • Mapping the Lands and Waters of Hawaiʻi: The Hawaiian Government Survey, by Riley M. Moffat and Gary L. Fitzpatrick. Honolulu: Editions Limited, 2004.
• Hawaiian Land Divisions (Island Breath)
  Moku and ahupuaʻa divisions in several downloadable digital formats for each of 8 major islands.
• Kipuka Database - Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA)
  A geographical information system (GIS) that provides maps about native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kipuka links historic data sets to geographic locations. The foundation of Kipuka is the traditional land system, mokupuni divided into moku, ahupuaʻa, ʻili, and kuleana. Also search in the Papakilo Database (OHA) for historical data and information on cultural sites and land.
• Old Maps Online
  An gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Contains dozens of historical Hawaiʻi maps.

Topographic Maps

Use the indexes below to access Hawaii topographic sets. Most sets were produced by the U.S. Geological Survey, while others were produced by the U.S. Army and the Land Study Bureau (Hawaii). The scales range from 1:20,000 to 1:50,000.

Digital Maps

• Indexes to MAGIS digitized Hawaiʻi topographic quadrangles (1910s-1990s) NEW (~40 sets)
• USGS
  • TopoView (current and historical topos; GeoPDF, GeoTIFF, JPEG, KMZ)
  • USGS The National Map (current or historical topos; GeoPDF)
  • USGS Store Map Locator (current and historical topos; GeoPDF)
  • US Topo and Historical Topographic Maps (database search for current and historical topos; GeoPDF)
  • GNIS: Geographic Names Information System (identify a quad by a place name search)

Printed Maps

• The Map Collection holds printed topographic maps of Hawaiʻi at various scales — 1:24,000, 1:31,680, 1:62,500, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000. All editions for Hawaiʻi are retained. Please contact MAGIS staff for questions about topographic maps we have not digitized.

Thematic Maps

Bathymetry

• Bathymetry and Global Relief (NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information)

Botany

• Campus Arboretum (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)
  The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa campus has an amazing collection of plants. Think of the university environment as a botanical garden. There are more than 6000 plants in over 700 species, some of which are represented by numerous distinct varieties. For more information, visit the Campus Arboretum website.
• Harold L. Lyon Arboretum Interactive Map of the Grounds and Living Plant Collection (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)
  Lyon Arboretum is part of the University of Hawaiʻi and a public botanical garden. The arboretum has over seven miles of hiking trails and boasts more than 6,000 taxa of tropical and sub-tropical plants on our nearly 200 acres. It is our goal to make the living collection a valuable research tool and give our visitors a new way to interact with our unique collection of plants from all over the world. This map is a work in progress, and it will be updated regularly to reflect the addition of new and existing accessions and associated data.

Crime

• Honolulu Police Department Crime Map (HPD map overview/statistics)
  The crime-type categories include: Arson, Assault, Burglary, Disturbing the Peace, Drugs / Alcohol Violations, DUI, Fraud, Homicide, Motor Vehicle Theft, Robbery, Sex Crimes, Theft / Larceny, Vandalism, Vehicle Break-In / Theft, Weapons.

Elections

• Election Maps (State of Hawaii, Office of Elections)

Environment

• AirNow, Interactive Map of Air Quality (Environmental Protection Agency)
  Every day the Air Quality Index (AQI) tells you how clean or polluted your outdoor air is, along with associated health effects that may be of concern. The AQI translates air quality data into numbers and colors that help people understand when to take action to protect their health. Consult AirNow's Homepage and About page for more information.
• Air Quality Map (PurpleAir)
  The PurpleAir Map displays the points using the Federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Air Quality Index (AQI) scale. PurpleAir is a grassroots group (LLC) with a technical background that wanted to measure the pollution coming from a mining operation. The website and map was started in November 2015. Sharing the data and research with others created a need for more monitors, to expand the network and to test the sensors by collocating them with other monitors.
• AirVisual Earth and AirVisual Map (IQAir)
  AirVisual was founded in 2015 and now part of IQAir. AirVisual provides an air pollution app and free access to their air quality database, spanning 10000+ locations globally. The app and AirVisual website offer a 7-day pollution forecast.
• EnviroAtlas (Environmental Protection Agency - Guide)
  EnviroAtlas interactive tools allow users to discover, analyze, and download data and maps related to ecosystem services, or the benefits people receive from nature.  Ecosystem services underpin most aspects of human well-being, including water, security, and the economy. 
• EWG (Environmental Working Group) Maps
  The Environmental Working Group is a non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to protecting human health and the environment. EWG provides reports, online databases, mobile apps and communications campaigns to help consumers to make safer and more informed decisions about potentially dangerous chemical ingredients, the products they buy, and the companies they support. 
• Find a Redemption Center (Hawaii Deposit Beverage Container Program)
• Oahu Composting Map (by Hans Kern)

Fishing

• Global Fishing Watch Map
  SkyTruth is the operator and lead developer of Global Fishing Watch, a partnership with Oceana and Google to map all of the trackable commercial fishing activity in the world, in near-real time, and make it accessible to researchers, regulators, decision-makers, and the public. Using cloud computing, machine-learning, and vessel location data picked up by satellite, SkyTruth has developed a tool that will encourage transparency and scientific research. Global Fishing Watch was launched in Washington, DC, in September, 2016 and is now freely available to everyone with an internet connection. Learn more about the Global Fishing Watch project at the links below:
  • Article: Global Fishing Watch – Illuminating Vessel Activity On the Open Ocean by Craig McCabe, Emily Meriam, and Keith VanGraafeiland (2025-01-28)
  • StoryMap: Global Fishing Watch: Illuminating vessel activity on the open ocean by Craig McCabe, Emily Meriam, and Keith VanGraafeiland | Living Atlas - Environment Team (2025-01-15)

Flood Maps

• FEMA Flood Map Service Center
  Current and historical flood maps for Hawaiʻi, Honolulu, Kauaʻi, and Maui Counties. The FEMA Flood Map Service Center (MSC) is the official public source for flood hazard information produced in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
• FEMA National Flood Hazard Layer (kmz layer for use with Google Earth)
  Download the latest "Stay Dry" or "FEMA NFHL" kmz files and open using Google Earth. The National Flood Hazard Layer (NFHL) dataset represents the current effective flood data for the country, where maps have been modernized. It is a compilation of effective Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) databases and Letters of Map Change (LOMCs). The NFHL is updated as studies go effective.

Geologic

Hazards

Military

​Plants

• Campus Arboretum (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)
  The Campus Arboretum map is a layer within the Campus Map system (Under "Explore UH Manoa" sidebar, select Campus Arboretum). The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa campus has an amazing collection of plants. Think of the university environment as a botanical garden. There are more than 6000 plants in over 700 species, some of which are represented by numerous distinct varieties. For more information, visit the Campus Arboretum website.
• Harold L. Lyon Arboretum Interactive Map of the Grounds and Living Plant Collection (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)
  Lyon Arboretum is part of the University of Hawaiʻi and a public botanical garden. The arboretum has over seven miles of hiking trails and boasts more than 6,000 taxa of tropical and sub-tropical plants on our nearly 200 acres. It is our goal to make the living collection a valuable research tool and give our visitors a new way to interact with our unique collection of plants from all over the world. This map is a work in progress, and it will be updated regularly to reflect the addition of new and existing accessions and associated data.

Property Search (TMK maps)

• Honolulu City and County
• Hawaiʻi County
• Kauaʻi County
• Maui County

Rainfall and Watersheds

• Rainfall Atlas of Hawaiʻi
• Atlas of Hawaiian Watersheds and their Aquatic Resources (web and PDF)

Soil

• Soils of Hawai‘i, 2007 (CTAHR, Soil and Crop Management report, SCM-20)
• Soil Survey, Territory of Hawaii, 1955 (via Internet Archive. Full study, including 31 maps at end of volume)
• Soil Survey of Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, and Lanai, State of Hawaii, 1972 (via Internet Archive)
• Soil Survey of Island of Hawaii, State of Hawaii, 1973 (via Internet Archive)
• Soil Survey of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii, 2008 (via Internet Archive)
• Special Soil Survey Report for Island of Kahoolawe, Hawaii, 2011 (via Internet Archive)
• Soil Survey of Island of Hawaii, Hawaii, 2013; index map to map sheets (via Internet Archive)

Sugarcane

• Historic Sugarcane Lands Map Viewer (Environmental Planning Office, Department of Heath)

Trail and Hiking

• Nā Ala Hele: State of Hawaiʻi Trail and Access Program (DLNR)
  • Nā Ala Hele Trail and Access Program (interactive map)
  • Oʻahu Trail & Access Road Maps (list of maps in PDF)
  • Maui Trail & Access Maps (list of maps in PDF)

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

• UH Mānoa Campus Map (many layers)
• UH Mānoa Campus WiFi Coverage Map