University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

NREM Graduate Research Skills: Finding Journal Articles

600/601/605

Recommended Interdisciplinary (Multi-subject) Journal Article Databases

Recommended Biological Sciences Journal Article Databases

Recommended Physical Sciences Journal Article Databases

Recommended Natural Resource Economics Journal Article Databases

Making Your Search Work

Need help with constructing your search for journal articles?

Our LibGuide on Boolean Operators will show you how to use AND, OR, NOT and PARENTHESES to construct your search

Be sure to examine all appropriate aspects of your topic such as:

  • Organism name: common names; current and superceded specific names
  • Higher order taxa: genus; family
  • Region of origin, use, or interest: country name; geographic region
  • Relevant ecosystem: rainforest, dry forest, coastal, etc.

Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article

Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.

Click on the Find it link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.

If we do not have access to the article in an online format (No Full Text available), use the Hawaii Voyager link to see if we have it available in print.

If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, select Request document via Interlibrary Loan to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to UH Manoa faculty, staff and students by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.

Need More Help?

E-mail Sci/Tech: sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone:
808.956.8263