Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources listed on this page will help you find newspaper articles published mostly in Honolulu in either Hawaiian or English between 1834-1969 and 1989-now. Each database has different coverage and provides a citation or the full-text of the article. If the full-text is not available online, you will need to find the article on microfilm. Use the Pacific Islands Newspapers guide to find newspaper articles published throughout the Pacific. Use the Newspapers in Hawaiʻi guide to find more newspapers published in Hawaiʻi.
Frequently Asked Questions
How can I find Hawaiʻi newspaper articles published between 1970-1988?
How can I find Hawaiʻi newspapers published in languages other than Hawaiian or English or published in a specific location?
How can I find and access newspaper articles on the microfilms?
Index Newspaper Databases
Bob Krauss Research Index (Hawaii Newspapers Index)
The Bob Krauss Research Index is an index of English-language newspaper content from Hawaii, covering 1840 through 1944. It is not comprehensive but covers periods of time for which there is no formal indexing. Includes links to online copies of newspapers, where available.
Full-Text Newspaper Databases
Honolulu record by
Call Number: AN2 .H65
Publication Date: 1948-1958
Also on Microfilm: MICROFILM S90146
via the Center for Labor Education & Research. The Search box retrieves search results but the links do not work. To get to the articles, take note of the issues' volumes and numbers, click the "back" button and browse your way to the issue through the "Honolulu Record Index" link.
Offered "investigative, crusading journalism that attacked the Establishment for racism, 1st amendment infractions, police brutality, improper political fundraising, sub-standard plantation housing" (from Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi).
Honolulu Star Advertiser
Find full-text articles from the Honolulu Star--Advertiser and its former titles, the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1996 to present. This database is only for UH Mānoa affiliates.
Papakilo's Nūpepa Search
Collection of digitized Hawaiian language from 1843-1948 and more contemporary Hawaiian-related newspapers such as OHA's newsletter, Ka Wai Ola o OHA.