Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Song Indexes
Hawaiian Music Collection at UH
Over 2,000 songs from the 1920–40s, which span several genres, such as Hapa Haole, Hula Ku'i, Orchestra, Jazz, etc. Includes bibliographic information and image of disc label. Created by the University of Hawaiʻi - Manoa Library
Large collection of lyrics for Hawaiian songs. Compiled by Kaiulani Kanoa-Martin, copyright 1997–2015 Kaiulani Kanoa-Martin. Valuable resource for music, including lyrics, composer information, and backstory.
Hawaii Sheet Music Index
About 1,300 bibliographic records of songs and sheet music about Hawaiʻi. Material located in the Bishop Museum Library, the Hawaiʻi State Library and UH Manoa Library's Hawaiian Collection. Index integrated into UH Libraries' online catalog.
Over 38,000 Hawaiian music songs, including links to books, newsletters, and videos. Honolulu Community College - Music Entertainment Learning Experience (MELE)
Hawaiian Song Index by Amy Stillman
Song indexes of Hawaiian songs ( a song in Hawaiian on any subject, or a song in English with Hawaiʻi or some aspect of Hawaiian culture as a theme) in published and recorded sources, including composer name. This index is primarily an aid to locate Hawaiian songs in published Hawaiian songbooks.
Hawaiian Chant Index by Amy Stillman
Chant books and chant recordings are indexed. Available online in addition to a physical copy at Hamilton Library.
Hapa Haole Songs
Songs that have mostly English lyrics and hula rhythms. Hapa Haole music was disseminated mainly by Hawaiian performers who either performed in Waikiki showrooms or who spent decades away from their beloved home touring the U.S. continent.
Hawai'i Council for the Humanities
Excellent resource documenting how music shaped the history of Hawai'i, includes articles by musicians and historical photos