University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

ENG 382/WS 381: Gender, Sexuality, and Literature: Research Tools

Course guide for ENG 382/WS 381: Gender, Sexuality, and Literature. Spring 2017. Instructor: Bianca Isaki.

Find Books

Locating print books

  • Note the Location and Call Number of books in the catalog to find them in the library.
  • Use Get this Item to page materials from Hawaiian & Pacific Collections or from another UH System Library.

Accessing electronic books

  • Look for a Website/Electronic Resource link at the bottom of the record.
  • Expect to log-in with your UH ID. Manoa users cannot access e-books from other UH libraries. 
  • Some e-books have limited simultaneous users

Example Subject Headings

Subject headings are standardized terms used to describe materials in library catalogs. Use them for more precise and targeted searching and to cross-reference items in the catalog. 

Here are some examples. Enter them into the Subject tab in the Voyager catalog to browse related terms and items categorized under that heading. Using Advanced Search, try combining a subject search with an additional keyword.

  • Coetzee, J. M., 1940---Criticism and interpretation.
  • Feminism and literature.
  • Homosexuality in literature.
  • Gender identity in literature.
  • Kincaid, Jamaica--Criticism and interpretation.
  • Lesbians' writings, American--History and criticism.
  • Postcolonialism in literature.
  • Race in literature.
  • Sex in literature.
  • Walker, Alice, 1944---Criticism and interpretation.
  • Working class in literature.

Online Research Databases

Use the online research databases below to identify scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. There are different kinds of databases: discipline-specific (deep subject coverage and specialized indexing) and interdisciplinary (broad coverage of many areas). In your research, you should consult multiple databases. How does the coverage of your topic differ across various resources? 

Some databases contain the full-text of articles; others contain only citations or a mix of full-text and citations. If the full-text is not available in the database, look for theFind It button icon button to check if we have the article in the library. 

Literature + Gender Studies Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Understanding Peer Review

Can't find what you need?

Icon depicting an open book.