Research Guides: Political Science: Indigenous Politics Specialization

Indigenous Politics Specialization

Academic Search Complete Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Alt-PressWatch Alt-PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Current coverage includes approximately 100 titles going back to 1995. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
America: History & Life w/Full Text America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
AnthroSource Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including current issues for American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
Chronicling America Searchable full-text newspapers from throughout the U.S., primarily in English language. Hawaiʻi newspapers cover 1840-1922. Access the Chronicling America legacy site here
Directory of Open Access Journals Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Hawaiian Language Newspapers, UHM Library

HeinOnline: Modern Link to Legal History Hein Online includes law periodicals and journals. It provides indexing for US Treaties and Agreements, US Reports of the Supreme Court, Federal Register, etc. All of the library modules are image-based and fully-searchable, meaning that they provide exact page images and enable the researcher to view all pages as they originally appeared in hardcopy-including all charts, graphs, and photographs! This resource is available thanks to the Law Library.
JSTOR The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Project Muse Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples available via Academic Search Complete
American Indian Law Review available via HeinOnline available via JSTOR available via LexisNexis
American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research available via Academic Search Complete
Canadian Journal of Native Education available via Ethnic NewsWatch
Canadian Journal of Native Studies available via Ethnic NewsWatch
Cultural Survival Quarterly available via Ethnic NewsWatch
Decolonization: Indigeneity, education & society available via DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
First Peoples’ Child & Family Review available via DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
International Indigenous Policy Journal available via Ethnic Newswatch
International Journal of Indigenous Health available via Ethnic Newswatch
Journal of American Indian Education
Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association
Justice as Healing
Native Studies Review available via Academic Search Complete
Pimatisiwin
Settler Colonial Studies
Tribal College Journal of American Indian Higher Education (not peer reviewed)
Winds of Change: A magazine for American Indians in Science and Technology (not peer reviewed)
Wicazo Sa Review available via Project Muse

United Nations for Indigenous Peoples
https://www.un.org/development/desa/indigenouspeoples/

Office of Hawaiian Affairs
https://www.oha.org

Bureau of Indian Affairs
https://www.bia.gov/

Search by Domain

Common Domain Names

.edu = U.S. educational institutions

.gov = U.S. government

.org = usually non-profit organization, but anyone can use it

.mil = U.S. military

.museum = museums

.net = networks, but anyone can use it

Google: site: .gov “Native American “”test scores”

Bing: site: .org “Native American” “school lunch programs”

Google: site: .edu “Native American” ”school lunch programs”

Search by Organization Site

Think about what particular organization might study your issue. For example, if you are interested in examining Native Hawai'ian student performance on standardized exams, you might search the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa’s site, or Kamehameha Schools, or the State of Hawai'i’s Department of Education.

First get the organization’s URL.
Google: Hawaii department education
Identify the DOE’s website = hawaiipublicschools.org
Google site: hawaiipublicschools.org “native Hawaiians” “standardized test scores”
Google: site:ksbe.edu “native Hawaiians” “standardized test scores”
Bing: site:ksbe.edu “native Hawaiians” “standardized test scores”

Search by Tribal Government Site or Tribe Site

If you are researching, say, gaming and the Navajo Tribe, you can search their tribal website.

Google: Navajo government
Identify their government website which is: www.navajo-nsn.gov
Google: site:Navajo-nsn.gov gaming

Search by the Colonial Government Site

If you are researching, say, the Sami people, you can search their colonial government website. The Sami live in Sweden.

Google: government Sweden
Identify their government website which is: www.gov.se
Google: site:government.se sami education

Search Social Media

If you would like both the official and unofficial representation, try social media. This will lead you to primary sources. For example, if you are examining the movement to protect Mauna Kea, you can

Bing: site:facebook.com mauna kea protectors

Alternatively, you can search by the terms thirty meter telescope protests

Google: site::facebook.com thirty meter protests
Google: site:twitter.com thirty meter telescope protests