Research Guides: Anthropology and Archaeology: Articles

Databases

Anthropology and Archaeology Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

Read this first. Use indexes, abstracts, and databases to search for peer-reviewed journal articles by topic. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. Click on the Find it link in the database records to search UHM collections.

If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

Abstracts in Anthropology The only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field, Abstracts in Anthropology has established itself as an indispensable reference and research tool for the international community of anthropologists. Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals.
Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, Linguistics. Abstracts in Anthropology has evolved into an eclectic overview of the many faceted realms of anthropology, including: Basic Site Reports, Field Techniques, Innovative Analytical Studies, Artifacts from Around the World.

Annual Reviews Reviews of the scholarly literature in sociology, anthropology, law and related disciplines. Articles written by working scholars; a great way to learn how a topic has developed through the years.

Anthropological Index Online Anthropological Index Online is an index to periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library, incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library.
AnthroSource Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including current issues for American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Dates covered are from 1973 to the present.

Reviews in Anthropology (UHM users only) Reviews in Anthropology is devoted to lengthy, in-depth review commentary on recently published books. Titles are largely drawn from the professional literature of anthropology, covering the entire range of work inclusive of all sub-disciplines, including biological, cultural, archaeological, and linguistic anthropology.
Southeat Asian Archaeology Research and Database As part of a long term project between the Department of Anthropology at the University of Hawai'i-Manoa and the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Athropology, a website has been created to help scholars with an interest in Southeast Asian archaeology find and utilize references and data they need for their research

Academic Search Complete Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Bibliography of Asian Studies Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), the most comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia, contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.).
Google Scholar Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
JSTOR The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Project Muse Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
Web of Science Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.

Find Journals

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has the journal that contains it, search for the journal name.

Start with

OneSearch Manoa Search for books, journal titles, videos, music, etc. available via University of Hawaii
Electronic Journals & Books UH Manoa Library gateway to e-journal titles.
Interlibrary Loan If UH Manoa Library does not own the title you need, please consider requesting the item via interlibrary Loan.