Research Guides: Anthropology and Archaeology: Home

Anthropology and Archaeology Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. The Hamilton Library Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers anthropology and archaeology from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have significant amounts of material on anthropology and archaeology of those geographic areas.

Related Subjects

Selected research guides for disciplines related to anthropology and archaeology.

Anthropology and Archaeology Research Guide

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in anthropology and archaeology. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for anthropology and archaeology research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, OneSearch Manoa, or the librarians at the main reference desk.

Find BOOKS

Find JOURNAL ARTICLES

Abstracts in Anthropology The only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field, Abstracts in Anthropology has established itself as an indispensable reference and research tool for the international community of anthropologists. Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals.
Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, Linguistics. Abstracts in Anthropology has evolved into an eclectic overview of the many faceted realms of anthropology, including: Basic Site Reports, Field Techniques, Innovative Analytical Studies, Artifacts from Around the World.
Anthropological Index Online Anthropological Index Online is an index to periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library, incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library.

Quick REFERENCE

Dictionary of the Social Sciences (2002) (UHM users only) Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume,the entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology (2008) (UHM users only) With over 4,000 entries covering the essential vocabulary for everyday archaeological work in the English language. There is coverage of principles, theories, techniques, artifacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms.

Subject Liaison

David Brier

Contact:

Office: 808-956-2746

Fax: 808-956-5968

Email:daveb@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Library

2550 McCarthy Mall

Honolulu HI 96822

Subjects: Anthropology, Architecture, Communication, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Geography, Journalism, Law, Peace Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology, Urban & Regional Planning, Women's Studies