University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Government Documents - Department of Energy: Home

This guide provides an overview of our Department of Energy holdings. Topics include statistics on energy production and consumption, prices, energy policy, research and development, and related subjects.

Photographs of several energy sources

Internet resources

Government Documents Librarian

Gwen Sinclair's picture
Gwen Sinclair
Contact:
2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822
808-956-2549

Our holdings

The Department of Energy (DOE) was established in 1977, taking on the functions of the Energy Research and Development Administration, the Federal Energy Administration, the Federal Power Administration, the Alaska Power Administration, the Bonneville Power Administration, the Southeastern Power Administration, and the Southwestern Power Administration. Its mission is "to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions."

Government Documents provides access to an extensive collection of DOE publications, including the following series:

Fuel economy guide (E 1.8/5:)

Conference series (E 1.10:) Conference proceedings from energy symposia.

Contractor research and development reports (E 1.28:) Reports on research and development from national laboratories.

Science & technology review (E 1.53:) Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory's scientific and technological accomplishments.

Nuclear safety (E 1.93:)

We also have Congressional reports, documents, committee hearings, and prints related to DOE and its predecessor agencies. Search for these using ProQuest Congressional (UHM login required). You can also find general publications, handbooks, consumer pamphlets, and a plethora of technical and statistical publications about energy and fuels such as solar, wind, biomass, coal, alcohol, natural gas, oil, and other energy technologies.

The Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) was established in 1946 to maintain civilian control of atomic research and development. While it was originally tasked with developing nuclear technology for weapons and naval propulsion, its mission later changed to oversight of the commercial nuclear power industry. It was abolished in 1974 and replaced by the Energy Research and Development Administration and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), which also regulates nuclear waste and radioactive materials.

The UHM Library was an AEC depository library and Government Documents has an extensive collection of AEC publications, including technical reports, statistical publications, and conference proceedings. Most are uncataloged, so please ask for assistance if you are looking for a particular publication. Our holdings include:

AEC annual report to Congress (Y 3.At 7:1)

AEC research and development reports (Y 3.At 7:22) Reports generated by the various laboratories that conducted research under the AEC: Batelle Memorial Institute, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory, etc. The reports generally fall into two categories, progress reports and summaries. Proceedings of scientific symposia and meetings are also included.

Some reports have been digitized and are available in the TRAIL online archive (see box below). Most of the reports were prepared by national laboratories or contractors. They consist mostly of reports of research related to the development of nuclear weapons and nuclear energy.

Government Documents holds publications of a number of national research laboratories operated on behalf of DOE. Examples include:

See the AEC tab for older research reports by national laboratories published by AEC.

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) was established in 1977. It took on many of the powers of the Federal Power Commission, such as regulation of the interstate transmission of electricity, natural gas, and oil. FERC also reviews proposals to build liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminals and interstate natural gas pipelines, and it licenses hydropower projects.

Government Documents provides access to many FERC publications, including the following series:

Environmental impact statements (E 2.11:)

FERC reports (E 2.17:) Official issuances such as opinions, findings, orders, declarations, notices, and decisions.

We also have Congressional reports, documents, committee hearings, and prints related to the regulation of energy, pipelines, energy transmission, and FERC. Search for these using ProQuest Congressional (UHM login required).

The Bonneville Power Administration (BPA) was established as part of the Department of the Interior in 1937. It was transferred to the U.S. Department of Energy in 1977. BPA distributes and sells electricity generated by dams owned by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the Bureau of Reclamation on the Columbia River to electric utilities in the Pacific Northwest.Government Documents provides access to a few BPA publications, including the following series:

Annual report (E 5.1:)

A number of contractor reports are in the main collection. Use the Voyager online catalog to search for them.

We also have Congressional reports, documents, committee hearings, and prints related to BPA's operations. Search for these using ProQuest Congressional (UHM login required).

Current Statistics

The Energy Information Administration (EIA) was established in 1977. It collects, analyzes, and publishes data about energy in the U.S. and worldwide.

Government Documents provides access to an extensive collection of EIA publications, including the following series:

Monthly energy review (E 3.9:) Current and historical energy statistics

Energy data reports (E 3.11/) Production statistics, prices, and other data for natural gas, electric utilities, petroleum, and coal

State energy data reports (E 3.42:) Energy consumption by state

Historical Statistics

Statistics of electric utilities in the United States (FP 1.21:)

We also have Congressional reports, documents, committee hearings, and prints related to energy production, consumption, supplies, and prices. Search for these using ProQuest Congressional (UHM login required).

Loading

TRAIL Full-Text Technical Reports

TRAIL - Technical Report Archive and Image Library - logo


Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.

Keyword Search

Enter your search terms: