Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peer-reviewed books and articles
Open access portal. Contains 400+ Francophone journals on humanities and social science topics, as well as over 2,000 monographs.
Dissertations & Theses
Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861.
Citations and abstracts for theses defended in France since 1985. Many are available to read online.
Encyclopedias and reference resources
ARTFL enables search of over 3500 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
A single to search across millions of digital collections from European libraries and research universities.
Gallica – The BnF Digital Library
Search the digital collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Contains over 3 millinon documents, including printed documents (books, press and magazines) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound and iconographic documents, maps and plans, and more.
Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Useful for exploratory searching or locating known items.
Detail from Lecture de la tragédie de l'orphelin de la Chine de Voltaire dans le salon de madame Geoffrin by Anicet Charles Gabriel Lemonnier, 1812. [Source: Wikimedia Commons]
Request materials not available through UH Mānoa from another library.
WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.