Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To get to the online Library resources,
you must log in first.
LOG IN HERE!
Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Hours
COVID-19 Update: Please see updates here.
HP Reading Room: Closed
Spring semester (January 11 - May 14)
Chat Reference service is available:
Monday-Friday: 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
(exceptions: Jan. 18, Feb. 15, Mar. 26, Apr. 2, holidays)
You may reach out to us via methods below at any time.
Be sure to leave an e-mail address so we can get back to you.
Other Hawaiʻi Libraries and Repositories
Directory of Historical Records Repositories in Hawaiʻi, 5th ed.
Compiled by the Association of Hawaii Archivists and the Hawaiian Historical Society, 2013.
Hawaiʻi Libraries (Hawaiʻi Library Association)
List of Hawaiʻi libraries, with links to their websites.
Mission Houses Museum Library
Rare book and manuscript collections documenting Hawaiʻi's historic period through the 19th century.
Hawaiian Historical Society Library
The Hawaiian Historical Society library provides a research collection of printed and manuscript material for use by scholars, historians, history buffs, serious students, Society members, and others in the community interested in the history of Hawai‘i and the Pacific Island area. The library’s strength is on the history of Hawai‘i and the Pacific in the nineteenth century. It has fine collections of early voyages and travels, Hawaiian-language imprints, and newspapers published in Hawai‘i.
Hawaiʻi State Archives
Hawaiʻi State Archives holds the operational records of the kingdom, republic, territory and state of Hawaiʻi and their various departments and agencies.
Bishop Museum Library and Archives
Bishop's holdings focus on material pertaining to Hawaiians. In addition to their cataloged collections, both the Library and Archives hold collections of material that are not indexed in their online catalogs.
Hawaiʻi State Public Library System
Hawaiʻi public libraries hold copies of many commonly used Hawaiʻi-related reference titles. They can be a convenient alternative when UH librariesʻ copies are not available.
UHM Library University Archives & Manuscripts
Highlights of this department's holdings include: University of Hawaiʻi Archives, Hawaiʻi Congressional Papers Collection, Other Manuscript Collections. An online catalog for archival materials is available here