Hawaiʻi - Kūʻē Petitions Anti-Annexation

Newest beautifully crafted bound volume that presents high quality color copies of the petitions with a new location-based index and custom maps that correspond to locations in the petitions. Includes new and updated essays by Hawaiian scholars Jonathan Kay Kamakawiwo‘ole Osorio, Jamaica Heolimeleikalani Osorio, Nālani Minton, and Noenoe K. Silva about the petitions and their continued importance for the lāhui.

Presents B&W copies of the petitions in an island-by-island format spanning 4 volumes (new at the time). Includes a brief preface explaining how the Kūʻē petitions were found and a short essay about the how the Kūʻē petitions were instrumental in maintaining Hawaiian sovereignty in the context of international law.

Presents B&W copies of the petitions in a spiral bound volume for kānaka to easily access (new at the time). Includes writings by Noenoe Silva such as a ʻōlelo mua, or preface, that explains how the petitions were found, shared, and their significance as well as the introductory essay, "Kanaka Maoli Resistance to Annexation" with Appendix A "Chronology of Events in Hawaiʻi 1887-1898" and Appendix B "Glossary of Hawaiian Terms."

Noenoe Silva contributes the chapter "Ke Kūʻē Kūpaʻa Loa Nei K/Mākou (We Most Solemnly Protest)," where she shares deeply on her time finding and sharing the Kūʻē petitions in the 1990s as a graduate student. She reflects on how the petitions inspire and ground us in the kūʻē and pō of our kūpuna as we continue the fight for ea, pono, and aloha ʻāina.

Links to reprint (published after 1904) of 1898 edition. Appealing to an American audience for justice, Queen Liliʻuokalani details her diplomatic efforts in Washington D.C. to restore Hawaiian governance and stop the annexation of Hawaiʻi. Her account details the events that led to the Kūʻē petition drive in Fall 1897. She includes her official protest and analysis of the annexation treaty that U.S. President McKinley sent to the U.S. Senate on June 16, 1897. Appendix D includes the text of the treaty.

Drawing on the Hawaiian language archives that were ignored in previous scholarship about annexation, Noenoe Silva details the events leading up to annexation and the subsequent resistance against annexation in her chapter, "The Antiannexation Struggle." She frames her research in a larger discussion on how we must strive to challenge and correct mainstream histories that omit and silence native voices and resistance by using native language sources.

First published with "Annexation" in the subtitle, Coffman exposes the manipulative actions by Republic of Hawaiʻi and U.S. leaders to illegally annex Hawaiʻi despite the steadfast diplomacy of Hawaiian leaders voicing opposition against annexation and for Hawaiian governance to be restored. Republished in 2009 and 2016, Coffman replaced “Annexation” with “Occupation” in the subtitle to acknowledge research by Hawaiian scholars that Hawaiʻi is occupied under international law since there was no treaty.

Seen as a detailed source on annexation at the time, Russ provides an American-centric analysis of Hawaiʻi's annexation using interesting English-language newspapers and government documents that draws readers into discourses of American imperialism. Critiqued by Noenoe Silva for ignoring the kūʻē petitions and furthering the narrative that annexation was a decision for only the United States to make, she argued these actions silenced counter-narratives of Hawaiian resistance on annexation.

Created as a community educational resource to help foster a clearer and deeper understanding of Hawaiian history, it gives an overview of Hawaiʻi's political history from the rise of Kamehameha to the United States seizure and occupation of the Hawaiian Kingdom. Sai's analysis highlights key moments and documents in Hawaiʻi's history to argue that the Hawaiian Kingdom is under a prolonged occupation by the United States.

In the Hawaiian Journal of History, v. 49, this essay explores the collegiate debates in the United States on whether the U.S. should annex Hawaiʻi and how these debates were silenced and excluded from the master, dominant narrative to show that the U.S. was in accord with its foreign policy on Hawaiʻi.

In the journal, English studies in Canada, v.30(2), this article reflects on the importance of Hawaiian language sources in disrupting "established" histories of Hawaiʻi's past that have ignored the huge archive of writings in the Hawaiian language. Silva shares how Samuel Kamakau's writings on Captain Cook's arrival refocuses it through a Hawaiian lens and how resurfacing the mass Hawaiian opposition against annexation challenges the ideas that Hawaiians passively accepted the injustices of their past.

On pdf pages 47-50 in the inaugural issue of ʻŌiwi: a Native Hawaiian journal, this essay unravels the illusion of a treaty of annexation between Hawaiʻi and the United States that was created by the Republic of Hawaiʻi and the United States at the annexation ceremony on August 12, 1898. This essay discusses what a treaty is and how it differs significantly from the joint resolution that was signed into U.S. law that supposedly provides for the legal annexation of Hawaiʻi to the United States.

On pdf pages 51-86 in the inaugural issue of ʻŌiwi: a Native Hawaiian journal, this groundbreaking essay documents the strategic protests and resistance of Kānaka Maoli against annexation in 1897 through 1898. Historical events and Kānaka Maoli resistance leading up to annexation from 1887 to 1895 are covered to further contextualize the anti-annexation protests of 1897-1898.

On pdf pages 87-105 in the inaugural issue of ʻŌiwi: a Native Hawaiian journal, features reprints and translations of editorials as well as a mele inoa by Ellen Kekoʻaohiwaikalani Prendergast published in the Hawaiian language newspaper Ke Aloha Aina from 1897-1898 about Kānaka Maoli protests against annexation and their continued fight for justice.

Released on the centennial of the purported 1898 annexation, raises awareness of the two failed treaties of annexation between Hawaiʻi and the United States in the 1890s, the Kūʻē petitions and their the role in stopping the 1897 Treaty of Annexation, the illusion of the Newlands joint resolution, and the resistance of our kūpuna that we must continuously affirm.

A keyword search for "annexation" provides clips from various collections highlighting speeches from the summer 1998 centennial ceremony commemorating the resistance to annexation, interviews with Noenoe Silva and b-roll for the documentary Nation Within: The Story of America's Annexation of Hawaiʻi, and discussions on First Friday.

Animated 60-minute documentary with historical photographs and documents, it highlights key moments in Hawaiʻi's political history providing historical context around the kūʻē petitions and Hawaiʻi's political situation.

Provides access to key primary source documents pertaining to the Annexation of Hawaiʻi that were digitized in 2001-02: Blount Report (Affairs in Hawaii), Congressional debates on the Hawaiian Organic Act, Anti-Annexation Kūʻē petitions, and various letters protesting annexation. Includes Noenoe Silva's 1998 online essay, "The 1897 Petitions Protesting Annexation" and the online "ʻŌlelo Mua" by Nalani Minton and Noenoe Silva introducing the B&W Kūʻē petitions.

Short essay and additional resources about the Kūʻē petition drive led by Hui Aloha ʻĀina and Hui Kālaiʻāina to protest the annexation of Hawaiʻi to the United States and how the petitions and the kūʻē of these hui and of those who signed are a testament of enduring aloha ʻāina.

A collaborative project between Dr. Goodyear-Kaʻōpua, her students, and the OHA Community Engagement project team, it highlights and brings to life through the student orators the voices of famed Hawaiian patriots: George Helm, Kamokila Campbell, James Kaulia, and Piilani whose voices lead the way for us to understand what it means to live in aloha ʻāina.

Collection of three primary source documents—select images of Kūʻē petitions, Joint Resolution annexing Hawaiʻi, and a letter from Queen Liliʻuokalani protesting U.S. ownership of Hawaiʻi—made available as educator resources about the Kūʻē petitions. Includes teaching activities and additional background information.

Blog highlighting articles from the repository of Hawaiian language newspapers on an assortment of topics such as people, places, institutions, and historic events. Use these tags to find articles relevant to the Kūʻē petitions: Petition, Hawaiian Patriotic League, Ahahui Hawaii Aloha Aina, Aloha Aina, Annexation, and Hui Kalaiaina.

Features English-language articles accessible through Chronicling America from local Hawaiʻi and U.S. Continent newspapers that reported on kūʻē petitions and annexation news in 1897-1898.

Ka ʻAhahui Hawaiʻi Aloha ʻĀina Hawaiian Patriotic League is "committed to the restoration of Hawaiian independence, to defend our lands and to uphold the values of aloha ʻāina, aloha lāhui, ka ʻoiaʻiʻo a me ka pono." Their website provides many unique videos about the Kūʻē petitions in addition to many other resources about the Women's Patriotic League and more in the "History" section under the "About" tab.