Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chinese Studies -- Chinese Picture Storybook 连环画: Home

Lian Huan Hua is a pocket sized picture-story book first published by a Shanghai publisher in the 1920s. The Library collected more than 150 titles that were published mostly during the Cultural Revolution, particularly between 1971-1976.

The Digital Collection

Lian Huan Hua (连环画) Collection

    By -- Creator

    By -- Subject

    By -- Publisher

Access to the books in the Collection

Please contact the Chinese Studies Librarian to make arrangement for viewing the items at Moir Archives Reading Room (5th floor Hamilton Library Addition).

Lian Huan Hua 连环画 -- Chinese Picture Storybook

Lian Huan Hua 连环画 literarily means "linked serial pictures." They are pocket sized picture-story books first published in China by a Shanghai publisher in the 1920s.

The Library has collected more than 150 titles of lian huan hua that were published mostly during the Cultural Revolution period (1966-1976). All these titles have been fully cataloged and can be accessed per request. The book covers of titles in the collection have been digitalized and available online as a part of the Library's digital image collections: https://digital.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/collections/show/58

 

 

China Studies

Dongyun Ni's picture
Dongyun Ni
Contact:
Hamilton Library Rm. 410
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822

Phone: (808) 956-2312
Fax: (808) 956-2318
Subjects:China