A sample of subject databases to try.
AGRICOLA
Compilation of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
International database of abstracts from journals, reports, monographs, dissertations, grey literature and proceedings. Coverage includes all biological and ecological aspects of marine; fisheries, aquaculture; oceanography; related legal, economic, and sociological resources. ASFA-2: Ocean technology, policy and non-living resources.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts is a basic research tool for biological and biomedical sciences. Includes full bibliographic citations and current life science abstracts derived from approximately 7,000 biological and biomedical journals from over ninety countries.
CABI Digital Library (CAB Abstracts)
Agriculture and allied fields, including rural tourism development and world agricultural economics. Corresponds to the 50 printed abstract journals published by CABI. Over 10,000 journals, monographs, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, patents from over 100 countries. Running a search in CABI Digital Library will search Tropical Diseases Bulletin in addition to CAB Abstracts.
Google Scholar
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Oceanic Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts indexes journal articles in the subjects of marine biology, ocean engineering, oceanography and marine biology. Includes article abstracts.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
SciFinder-n
NOTE: Access to SciFinder-n is restricted to UH Manoa students and faculty. You must create a free personal account to use SciFinder-n online. Formerly SciFinder Scholar, SciFinder-n provides access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907 to the present and covers all areas of chemistry and chemical engineering.
If this is your first time using SciFinder-n online, click here to create a free personal account. NOTE: Once you have created your personal SciFinder account, you must access SciFinder-n Online via the above link on this page. This will ensure you are recognized as an authorized UH Manoa user before proceeding to the resource. Please bookmark this page for quick access.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.
Zoological Record (Web of Science)
Extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine.
Interdisciplinary databases are great for finding info on a wide variety of subjects. Here is a sample to try.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
ProQuest
Search across 30+ databases hosted by ProQuest covering all subjects
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
