Research Guides: Russian Invasion of Ukraine Information Guide: News & Information

Russian Invasion of Ukraine

Russia launched a large scale invasion into Ukraine on 24 February 2022. The UHM Russian Collection does not focus on collecting resources on Ukraine. This guide may help you get started in looking for information. There are links to selected sources of information on the current conflict in Ukraine as well the historical contexts of this invasion and general information on Ukraine.

Government

Country Profiles

Resource Links

Articles

#KyivNotKiev

Washington Examiner's Word of the Week: 'Kyiv'

Current News

Q&A: UH expert on North Korea sending troops to Russia to fight in Ukraine War, UH News, 4 November 2024

News

Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty - Russia Invades Ukraine News Feed

Archives & Libraries in Ukraine

Putin's War on Ukrainian Memory, The Atlantic Online, 23 April 2023

Russian Occupiers Launch War on Ukrainian History, Burning Books and Destroying Archives, Euromaidan Press, 2 April 2022

Impacts on Conservation Research

Russia-Ukraine War has Global Impacts on Conservation Research, UH News, 17 February 2023

Culture

'They burned books, like the Nazis did 80 years ago': Russia's deadly attack on Ukraine's biggest printing house, The Guardian, 30 June 2024

Maps

New Publications

Our Enemies Will Vanish by Yaroslav Trofimov "Our Enemies Will Vanish achieves the highest level of war reporting: a tough, detailed account that nevertheless reads like a great novel. One is reminded of Michael Herr's Dispatches . . . Frankly, it's what we have all aspired to. I did not really understand Ukraine until I read Trofimov's account." --Sebastian Junger A revelatory eyewitness account of Russia's invasion of Ukraine and heroism of the Ukrainian people in their resistance by Yaroslav Trofimov, the Ukrainian chief foreign-affairs correspondent for The Wall Street Journal. Since Russia invaded Ukraine in February 2022, Yaroslav Trofimov has spent months on end at the heart of the conflict, very often on its front lines. In this authoritative account, he traces the war's decisive moments--from the battle for Kyiv to more recently the gruelling and bloody arm wrestle involving the Wagner group over Bakhmut--to show how Ukraine and its allies have turned the tide against Russia, one of the world's great military powers, in a modern-day battle of David and Goliath. Putin had intended to conquer and annex Ukraine with a vicious blitzkrieg, redrawing the map of Europe in a few short weeks with seismic geopolitical consequences. But in the face of this existential threat, the Ukrainian people fought back, turning what looked like certain defeat into a great moral victory, even as the territorial battle continues to seesaw to this day. This is the story of the epic bravery of the Ukrainian people--people Trofimov knows very well. For Trofimov, this war is deeply personal. He grew up in Kyiv and his family has lived there for generations. With deep empathy and local understanding, Trofimov tells the story of how everyday Ukrainian citizens--doctors, computer programmers, businesspeople, and schoolteachers--risked their lives and lost loved ones. He blends their brave and tragic stories with expert military analysis, providing unique insight into the thinking of Ukrainian leadership and mapping out the decisive stages of what has become a perilous war for Ukraine, the Putin regime, and indeed, the world. This brutal, catastrophic struggle is unfolding on another continent, but the United States and its NATO allies have become deeply implicated. As the war drags on, it threatens to engulf the world. We cannot look away. At once heart-breaking and inspiring, Our Enemies Will Vanish is a riveting, vivid, and first-hand account of the Ukrainian refusal to surrender. It is the story of ordinary people fighting not just for their homes and their families but for justice and democracy itself.
Call Number: Main DK508.852 .T736 2024
ISBN: 9780593655184
Publication Date: 2024
Enemy Archives by Volodymyr Viatrovych (Editor); Lubomyr Luciuk (Editor); Marta Olinyk (Translator); Marta Daria Olynyk (Translator) As Russia wages a twenty-first-century war against the very existence of a Ukrainian state and nation, reanimating Soviet-era propaganda that portrayed Ukrainians as Nazi collaborators and fascists, the experiences of the Ukrainian nationalist underground before, during, and after the Second World War gain new significance. While engaged in a decades-long struggle against the Ukrainian nationalist movement and the Ukrainian Insurgent Army (UPA), and lasting into the mid-1950s, Soviet counterinsurgency forces accumulated a comprehensive and extensive archive of documents captured from the Organization of Ukrainian Nationalists and the UPA. Volodymyr Viatrovych and Lubomyr Luciuk have curated and carefully annotated a selection of these documents in Enemy Archives, providing primary sources the Soviet authorities collected and deemed useful for better understanding their opponents and so securing their destruction, a campaign that ultimately failed.The documents seized from the insurgents and Soviet analyses of them shed light on a wide range of experiences in the underground: how the movement struggled to maintain discipline and morale, how it dealt with suspected informers, and how it resisted the ruthless Soviet state, laying the foundations for the continuing Ukrainian struggle against foreign domination.
Call Number: Main DK508.84.E54 2023
ISBN: 9780228014669
Publication Date: 2023

Books

Central Europe University Press - Free Access to Ten Titles on Ukraine

Range of Library of Congress Call Nos. for the History of Ukraine: DK508 - DK508.95. These books can be found on the second floor of Hamilton Library.

Borderland by Anna Reid Borderland tells the story of Ukraine. A thousand years ago it was the center of the first great Slav civilization, Kievan Rus. In 1240, the Mongols invaded from the east, and for the next seven centureies, Ukraine was split between warring neighbors: Lithuanians, Poles, Russians, Austrians, and Tatars. Again and again, borderland turned into battlefield: during the Cossack risings of the seventeenth century, Russia’s wars with Sweden in the eighteenth, the Civil War of 1918-1920, and under Nazi occupation. Ukraine finally won independence in 1991, with the collapse of the Soviet Union. Bigger than France and a populous as Britain, it has the potential to become one of the most powerful states in Europe.In this finely written and penetrating book, Anna Reid combines research and her own experiences to chart Ukraine’s tragic past. Talking to peasants and politicians, rabbis and racketeers, dissidents and paramilitaries, survivors of Stalin’s famine and of Nazi labor camps, she reveals the layers of myth and propaganda that wrap this divided land. From the Polish churches of Lviv to the coal mines of the Russian-speaking Donbass, from the Galician shtetlech to the Tatar shantytowns of Crimea, the book explores Ukraine’s struggle to build itself a national identity, and identity that faces up to a bloody past, and embraces all the peoples within its borders.
Call Number: Main DK508.51.R45 1999
ISBN: 0813336740
Publication Date: 1999
Revolution and War in Contemporary Ukraine by Olga Bertelsen (Editor) What are the reasons behind, and trajectories of, the rapid cultural changes in Ukraine since 2013? This volume highlights: the role of the Revolution of Dignity and the Russian-Ukrainian war in the formation of Ukrainian civil society; the forms of warfare waged by Moscow against Kyiv, including information and religious wars; Ukrainian and Russian identities and cultural realignment; sources of destabilization in Ukraine and beyond; memory politics and Russian foreign policies; the Kremlin's geopolitical goals in its 'near abroad'; and factors determining Ukraine's future and survival in a state of war.The studies included in this collection illuminate the growing gap between the political and social systems of Ukraine and Russia. The anthology illustrates how the Ukrainian revolution of 2013-2014, Russia's annexation of the Crimean peninsula, and its invasion of eastern Ukraine have altered the post-Cold War political landscape and, with it, the regional and global power and security dynamics.
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 3838270169
Publication Date: 2017
Stalin's Empire of Memory by Serhy Yekelchyk Based on declassified materials from eight Ukrainian and Russian archives, Stalin's Empire of Memory, offers a complex and vivid analysis of the politics of memory under Stalinism. Using the Ukrainian republic as a case study, Serhy Yekelchyk elucidates the intricate interaction between the Kremlin, non-Russian intellectuals, and their audiences. Yekelchyk posits that contemporary representations of the past reflected the USSR's evolution into an empire with a complex hierarchy among its nations. In reality, he argues, the authorities never quite managed to control popular historical imagination or fully reconcile Russia's 'glorious past' with national mythologies of the non-Russian nationalities. Combining archival research with an innovative methodology that links scholarly and political texts with the literary works and artistic images, Stalin's Empire of Memory presents a lucid, readable text that will become a must-have for students, academics, and anyone interested in Russian history.
Call Number: E-book / Main DK508.813 .Y44 2004
ISBN: 9780802088086
Publication Date: 2004
Ukraine's Euromaidan by Frederick Mills (Editor); David Marples (Editor) The essays in this volume analyze the civil uprising known as Euromaidan that began in central Kyiv in late November 2013, when the Ukrainian president Viktor Yanukovych opted not to sign an Association Agreement with the European Union. Topics covered include the motivations and expectations of protesters, organized crime, nationalism, gender issues, mass media, the Russian language, and the impact of Euromaidan on Ukrainian politics, the EU, Russia, and Belarus. An epilogue looks at the Russian annexation of Crimea and the creation of breakaway republics in the east, leading to full-scale conflict. The goal is to represent a variety of aspects of a mass movement that captivated the world and led to the downfall of the Yanukovych presidency.
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 3838207009
Publication Date: 2015
Ukraine's Maidan, Russia's War: A Chronicle and Analysis of the Revolution of Dignity by Mychailo Wynnyckyj
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 3838273001
Publication Date: 2019
The Ukrainians by Andrew Wilson An account of Ukraine and its people. Andrew Wilson focuses on the complex relations between Ukraine and Russia and explains the different versions of the past propagated by Ukrainians and Russians. He also examines the continuing debates over identity, culture, and religion in Ukraine since its independence in 1991. This second edition is updated and includes coverage of the Yushchenko government and the Gongadze affair.
Call Number: Main DK508.45 .W55 2000
ISBN: 9780300093094
Publication Date: 2000