AMERICAN STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE

When looking for articles Hamilton Library has access to many subject specific and general databases. Below a select few have been identified as potentially useful for American Studies research.
NOTE: Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

Alt-PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Current coverage includes approximately 100 titles going back to 1995. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII and VIII collections, as well as Life Sciences collection. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Full text content consists of peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, with a focus on engineering. The database includes the following features: over 100 new full text titles added, bringing the total number of full text to 287 titles, full text country reports from CountryWatch, 245 full text pamphlets, and indexing and abstract coverage for dozens of newly added journals.

Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Abstracts of internationally-produced materials concentrating on education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has the journal that contains it, search for the journal name.