University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Maps

Hawaii

We aspire to provide comprehensive coverage of Hawaii. In addition to contemporary maps, we have a large collection of historical maps. Nevertheless, it is impossible for one organization to have all the maps, therefore, it is customary to rely on many agencies and collections in Hawai'i and beyond. If you do not find what you need in our digital and map collections, consult the links we provide to other collections throughout the state. If you have questions about our holdings, please contact MAGIS staff.

Historical Maps

Hawaii Government and Territory Survey, and Other Historical Maps, 1885-1904

Maui, Hawaiian islands. Primary triangulation by W.D. Alexander and S.E. Bishop ; topography and boundaries by W.D. Alexander, C.J. Lyons, M.D. Monsarrat, ...[et al.] ; map by F.S. Dodge. Hawaiian Government Survey, 1885.The maps below are some of the most frequently requested historical maps of the principal islands of Hawaii. Click on the View column to view the maps with our large image viewer. You will also have the option to download the maps. Georeferenced TIFF versions of several maps for use in GIS are available to download by clicking on the Zipped TIFF file. To view basic metadata for these georeferenced maps, download the companion spreadsheet.

Island Author Year View Georeferenced Zipped TIFF
Hawaii Donn, Alexander, Wall 1901  (258 MB)
Hawaii Wall, Alexander 1886  
Hawaii Iao, Wall 1928  
Hawaii [color] Iao, Wall 1928  
Kahoolawe Wall 1906  
Kauai Donn, Wall 1903  
Kauai Newton 1901  (182 MB)
Lanai Wall, Brown, Monssarat, Newton 1878  
Maui Dodge, Alexander 1885  (403 MB)
Maui Iao, Wall 1929  
Molokai [1:60,000] Dodge, Willis, Kanakanui, Alexander 1897  
Molokai [1:90,000] Dodge, Willis, Kanakanui, Alexander 1897  (211 MB)
Niihau Kerns, Wall 1904  (174 MB)
Oahu Donn, Wall 1902  (324 MB)
Oahu Lyons, Covington 1881  
See also: Hawaii Topographic Maps.

 

State Land Survey

Fire Insurance Maps

We have different versions of these important historical maps which show building and street information for towns and cities at a large scale. The Hawaii State Archives may have some maps that we do not. Consult the Union List of Sanborn & Other Fire Insurance Maps, Hawaii (by Riley Moffat, revised by Philip Hoehn) for an inventory and indications where various Hawaii sets may be held. The Library of Congress has one of the largest collections of Sanborn Maps with detailed explanation of the history and use of the maps.

Other Historical Maps and Data about Hawaii

  • AVA Konohiki
    Digitized land records and maps, with focus on documents that were written and produced in the 1840s and 1850s, when lands in Hawaiʻi first went into private ownership.
  • Congressional Serials Set Maps (1817-1980) (UHM login required)
    Click on Newsbank Readex, then Serial Set Maps. Once logged in the Serial Set Maps database, click on Map Locations, then Hawaii. Approximately 145 locations with over 500 maps. "Maps range from the great atlases to small individual maps clarifying very specific land questions, to great triangulation surveys, to the repetitive weekly weather maps, to the maps that made history as well as the maps of past history and to the purely serendipitous."
  • Hawaiian Land Divisions (Island Breath)
    Moku and ahupuaa divisions in several downloadable digital formats for each of 8 major islands.
  • Kipuka Database - Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA)
    A geographical information system (GIS) that provides maps about native Hawaiian land, culture and history.  Kipuka links historic data sets to geographic locations. The foundation of Kipuka is the traditional land system, mokupuni divided into moku, ahupua‘a, ili, and kuleana. Also search in the Papakilo Database (OHA) for historical data and information on cultural sites and land.
  • Old Maps Online
    An gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Contains dozens of historical Hawaii maps.

Topographic Maps

Digital Maps

Printed Maps

  • The Map Collection holds printed topographic maps of Hawaii at various scales — 1:24,000, 1:31,680, 1:62,500, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000.  All editions for Hawaii are retained. Please contact MAGIS staff for questions about topographic maps we have not digitized.

Thematic Maps

Crime

  • Honolulu Police Department Crime Map (HPD map overview/statistics)
    The crime-type categories include: Arson, Assault, Burglary, Disturbing the Peace, Drugs / Alcohol Violations, DUI, Fraud, Homicide, Motor Vehicle Theft, Robbery, Sex Crimes, Theft / Larceny, Vandalism, Vehicle Break-In / Theft, Weapons.

Geologic

Plants

  • Campus Plants (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
    The University of Hawai‘i Mānoa campus has an amazing collection of plants. Think of the university environment as a botanical garden. There are more than 6000 plants in over 700 species, some of which are represented by numerous distinct varieties. For more information, visit the Campus Arboretum website.

Rainfall and Watersheds

Trail and Hiking