Research Guides: Music: Home

Music Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. The Hamilton Library Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers music from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have significant amounts of material on music of those geographic areas.

Related Subjects

Selected research guides related to music.

Ethnomusicology
Hawaiian Music
Hawaiian Music Collection Digitized songs from the University of Hawaii at Manoa Hawaiian Music Archive collection.

Popular Song Index

Streaming Music

Music in Honolulu

Music at Manoa Events include performances by visiting artists, faculty, students and ensembles.
Diamond Head Theatre History, Season Offerings, Memories, Tickets, Shooting Stars
Hawaii Community Theatre Directory of Theatres and Organizations
Hawaii Theatre Center A multipurpose state-of-the-art performance center
Leeward Community College Theatre Information on LCC Theatre Season Events
Musician's Association of Hawaii Hire professional musicians, request membership, check who will be performing every tuesdays at Studio 6.
Royal Hawaiian Band MP3 Downloads

Areas of Local Music Interest

Hawaii Public Radio Hawaii Public Radio’s mission is to educate, inform and entertain by sharing music and information on the topics of fine arts, classical/jazz/blues genres. Keep in touch with the local community by checking out their events and community calendars and listening to their programs.
Hawaii Opera Theatre Get involved with Oahu’s operatic theatre community by subscribing to their seasons, volunteering, and watching their performances.
Hawaii Youth Symphony Hawaii Youth Symphony gives local students to opportunity to learn how to play string instruments, audition and join orchestras and symphonies. A listing of concerts is available online.
Kennedy Theatre at UH Manoa Located on the University of Hawaii at Manoa campus, Kennedy Theatre showcases the work of UH’s Department of Theatre and Dance’s students through plays, dance recitals, and more.
Neil Blaisdell Center Honolulu's world class venue for music, dance, and other arts. Check out the events calendar and purchase tickets online.
Oahu Choral Society The O’ahu Choral Society is comprised of the Honolulu Symphony Chorus and the Honolulu Chamber Choir. Concert events listings and open audition information is located on their website.
KTUH KTUH is a student-run radio station that broadcasts from the University of Hawaii at Manoa campus. “Hawaii’s only alternative” radio station features an eclectic mix of jazz, indie, drum and bass, house, funk, hip hop, and more. The website offers a listing of the different music sets available through this radio station and a live online stream.
Royal Hawaiian Band Founded by King Kamehameha III, Royal Hawaiian Band's mission is to promote and preserve Hawaii's musical culture through public musical performances of current and historic works. Weekly public performances are held on Fridays at Iolani Palace and on Sundays at Kapiolani Park Bandstand.
UH Manoa Music Department University of Hawaii at Manoa’s Music Department is the home to the Orvis Auditorium. This auditorium stages music acts from all over the world.

Music Research Guide

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in music. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for music research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, OneSearch Manoa, or the librarians at the main reference desk.

The Music Collection at UH is the largest music collection in the state of Hawai`i. The main function of the collection is to support the teaching and research efforts of students and faculty from the UH Music Department; the collection is strong in two areas: western classical music from the Middle Ages to the present and ethnomusicological materials. The collection is diverse and offers a wealth of material in the areas of music education, theory, esthetics, popular music, jazz, guitar repertoire, musical comedy, and history.

The Wong Audio Visual Center at Hamilton Library contains a vast array of CDs, LPs, DVDs, videocassettes, film strips, audio cassettes, etc. and also houses all the playback equipment for every form of media featured in the collection.

Find BOOKS

Find JOURNAL ARTICLES

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)
An international bibliography of music articles, collections, and books covering 10,000+ journals from 1800 to the present. In addition to journal articles, it is useful for finding book chapters and conference proceedings.
Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text)
Music Periodicals Database draws its current content from more than 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.

Quick REFERENCE

Oxford Music Online Contains Grove Music Online: includes encyclopedia articles on music genres, topics, and people.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

University of Hawai´i Music Department

One of the functions of the collection is to support the teaching and research efforts of students and faculty from the University of Hawai'i Music Department.

Malamalama, the magazine of the University of Hawaii, recently created a video featuring the UH Music Department:

Subject Liaison

David Brier

Contact:

Office: 808-956-2746

Fax: 808-956-5968

Email:daveb@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Library

2550 McCarthy Mall

Honolulu HI 96822

Subjects: Anthropology, Architecture, Communication, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Geography, Journalism, Law, Peace Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology, Urban & Regional Planning, Women's Studies