Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Home

Ethnic Studies Collections in the UHM Libraries

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. The Hamilton Library Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers ethnic studies from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe. The Asia Collection and the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections also have significant amounts of material on ethnic studies of those geographic areas.

Related Subjects

Selected research guides for disciplines related to ethnic studies.

Ethnic Studies Research Guide

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in ethnic studies. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles are included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for ethnic studies research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides and the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog.

Find BOOKS

Find JOURNAL ARTICLES

Academic Search Complete Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
America: History & Life w/Full Text America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Quick REFERENCE

Asian American Society: An Encylopedia (2015) (UHM users only)
Dictionary of the Social Sciences (2002) (UHM users only) Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume,the entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies.

Subject Liaison

David Brier

Contact:

Office: 808-956-2746

Fax: 808-956-5968

Email:daveb@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Library

2550 McCarthy Mall

Honolulu HI 96822

Subjects: Anthropology, Architecture, Communication, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Geography, Journalism, Law, Peace Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology, Urban & Regional Planning, Women's Studies